Om Birla

Ethics committee’s Moitra probe marred by Opposition walkout over ‘unethical’ questions

Moitra and her fellow opposition MPs emerged from the committee's questioning, criticising the line of inquiry.

Being targetted by “state-sponsored” attackers remotely: Mahua’s letter to Lok Sabha Speaker  

NEW DELHI: Trinamool Congress’ Lok Sabha Parliamentarian Mahua Moitra wrote to Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla regarding “warning messages” of their Apple devices being hacked on Wednesday.  Earlier Moitra had taken to the social media platform, X, to share the warning message from Apple tagging Shiv Sena (UBT) parliamentarian Priyanka Chaturvedi.  The content of the […]

Bangladesh hails Modi govt for women quota law

Bangladesh Parliament has congratulated the Indian government for the recently passed women's reservation legislation during a meeting with Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla on Thursday.

Amid diplomatic spat, India confirms Canada’s participation in P20

NEW DELHI: Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla on Friday confirmed Canada’s presence in the 9th G20 Parliamentary Speakers’ Summit (P20), which will be held in Delhi from October 12 to 14. This comes despite the rising tension between the two countries following Canada’s PM statement accusing India of having a link in the killing of its […]

Danish tried to heckle me on population bill: Gorakhpur MP Ravi Kishan

NEW DELHI:  BJP MP Ravi Kishan, who made a debut from UP’s Gorakhpur in 2019, has joined the chorus with his party MP Nishikant Dubey to slam Danish Ali while accusing him of first heckling him during a private member bill on population control in December. The MP shared his own instance with the Lok Sabha […]

Shishir Adhikari Disqualification: LS Speaker Moves Matter To Privileges Committee

Trinamool Congress (TMC) reiterated its demand for the removal of party Member of Parliament Shishir Adhikari, over his alleged anti-party activities.

Jhansi BJP MP Anurag Sharma Elected As World Body CPA Treasurer

Anurag Sharma, Member of Parliament from the Jhansi-Lalitpur parliamentary constituency, has been elected as the International Treasurer of the Parliamentary Association Conference (CPA) at the 65th Commonwealth Parliamentary Association Conference in Halifax, Canada. He will now be on the main Executive Council. The election of Sharma made him the second Indian office-bearer in the world’s […]

No Words Banned, MPs Have Freedom Of Expression: LS Speaker Om Birla

NEW DELHI: Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla addressed the media in Parliament House Complex ON Thursday, and clarified certain facts related to the inclusion of new words in the publication ‘List of Unparliamentary Words’. Speaking on this occasion, Birla said that Members of Parliament have been given freedom of expression under the Constitution of India. […]