BJP Appoints six-time Patnagarh MLA K V Singh Deo as deputy CM of Odisha

| Updated: 12 June, 2024 8:40 pm IST
BJP’s Deputy Chief Ministers. K V Singh Deo, a six-time Patnagarh MLA and former president of the state BJP unit. (Feature image by: Abhishek Rajput)

NEW DELHI: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has appointed Mohan Charan Majhi, a four-time MLA from Keonjhar and a member of the tribal Santhal community, as the Chief Minister of Odisha. Majhi took the oath of office along with his two Deputy Chief Ministers, K V Singh Deo and Pravati Parida, at a ceremony held at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar at 4:55 pm on Wednesday.

BJP’s Deputy Chief Ministers. K V Singh Deo, a six-time Patnagarh MLA and former president of the state BJP unit, hails from the western region of Odisha and belongs to the erstwhile royal family of Patnagarh. Singh Deo has had a distinguished political career, although he faces two criminal cases under various sections of the Indian Penal Code.

Singh Deo is the grandson of former Odisha Chief Minister Rajendra Narayan Singh Deo. He first entered the Assembly in 1995 and held the Patnagarh seat until 2019, when he was defeated by BJD’s Saroj Meher. This year, Singh Deo reclaimed the seat by a margin of 1,357 votes.

ALSO READ: Odisha welcomes first female deputy CM Pravati Parida as BJP forms government – THE NEW INDIAN

On the other hand, Pravati Parida, a first-time MLA from the Nimapara constituency, has made history by becoming Odisha’s first female Deputy Chief Minister. Parida won her seat by defeating BJD leader Dilip Kumar Nayak with a margin of 4,588 votes. 

From 2000 to 2009, during the BJD-BJP coalition government, Singh Deo managed key portfolios such as Industries and Urban Development. His wife, Sangeeta Singh Deo, is the current MP for Balangir, having won the seat in 1998, 1999, 2004, and 2019. Their daughter, Nivritti, actively participated in the recent election campaign and is married to Lakshyaraj Singh Mewar of the royal family of Udaipur, Rajasthan.

The BJP’s victory in the state elections has brought an end to the 24-year rule of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), paving the way for fresh leadership under Majhi.

Also Read Story

What Kejriwal can do & can’t: Here’s what conditions in SC bail order are…

SC grants interim bail to Kejriwal, but to remain in jail

Rahul Gandhi urges civility towards Smriti Irani following Lok Sabha results

CBI arrests alleged mastermind in NEET-UG paper leak case