Odisha welcomes first female deputy CM Pravati Parida as BJP forms government

| Updated: 12 June, 2024 8:45 pm IST
First female Deputy Chief Minister, Pravati Parida, a BJP MLA. (Feature image by: Abhishek Rajput)

NEW DELHI:  Odisha’s political landscape has taken a historic milestone by appointing its first female Deputy Chief Minister, Pravati Parida, a BJP MLA. This significant development comes as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) prepares to form its first-ever government in the state, ending the 24-year tenure of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) under Naveen Patnaik.

Pravati Parida, a first-time MLA from the Nimapara constituency, won her seat by a margin of 4,588 votes, defeating BJD leader Dilip Kumar Nayak. She will serve alongside KV Singh Deo, another deputy Chief minister who secured his position by defeating BJD’s Saroj Kumar Meher by 1,357 votes in the Patnagarh constituency.

Odisha CM-elect Mohan Charan Majhi, along with his deputies Pravati Parida and KV Singh Deo, took oath at Janata Maidan in Bhubaneswar on June 12. Prime Minister Narendra Modi attended the ceremony, marking the BJP’s significant political achievement in the state.

ALSO READ: Upasna Mahapatra: Odisha’s youngest MLA – THE NEW INDIAN

Pravati Parida, a resident of Nimapara and a lawyer by profession, has a compelling background. She completed her LLB from Utkal University in Bhubaneswar and later enrolled as an advocate in the Odisha High Court. After a long career in law, she joined the BJP and initially served as the women’s wing president of the party in Odisha.

Parida’s political journey has been marked by perseverance. Despite facing defeats in 2009, 2014, and 2019 to BJD’s Samir Ranjan Dash, she secured victory this time after Dash joined the BJP following a ticket denial from his party.

At 57, Parida’s election as Deputy Chief Minister is not only a personal triumph but also a significant moment for the representation of women in Odisha’s political landscape. She is married to Shyam Sundar Nayak, a former government employee.

Mohan Charan Majhi, an indigenous community leader, is set to become Odisha’s first BJP Chief Minister. His leadership marks a new chapter in Odisha’s political history, bringing the BJP to power after a long reign by the BJD.

The BJP’s victory in the recent elections, where they won 78 out of 147 Assembly seats, highlights a significant shift in the state’s political dynamics. This victory also saw the BJP winning 20 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha, further solidifying their position.

Also Read Story

What Kejriwal can do & can’t: Here’s what conditions in SC bail order are…

SC grants interim bail to Kejriwal, but to remain in jail

Rahul Gandhi urges civility towards Smriti Irani following Lok Sabha results

CBI arrests alleged mastermind in NEET-UG paper leak case