Odisha welcomes first female deputy CM Pravati Parida as BJP forms government

NEW DELHI:  Odisha’s political landscape has taken a historic milestone by appointing its first female Deputy Chief Minister, Pravati Parida, a BJP MLA. This significant development comes as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) prepares to form its first-ever government in the state, ending the 24-year tenure of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) under Naveen Patnaik. […]

Mohan Charan Majhi invites Naveen Patnaik to oath-taking ceremony as Odisha’s CM

NEW DELHI: Mohan Charan Majhi, the Chief Minister-designate of Odisha, along with State BJP President Manmohan Samal, met with outgoing Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday, June 12, to personally invite him to the oath-taking ceremony of the new Odisha government. The meeting took place at Naveen Niwas, Patnaik’s residence. Majhi, who is set to […]

Naveen Patnaik’s fall: How the BJP seized power in Odisha

The BJP’s victory in Odisha is more than just a numerical win; it symbolises a seismic shift in power dynamics, ending a 24-year reign under Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen Patnaik. With 78 out of 147 assembly seats and 20 out of 21 Lok Sabha seats, the BJP’s ascendancy underscores its growing clout and strategic prowess in navigating complex electoral terrains.

BJP likely to form Government in Odisha as counting nears completion

In a significant political shift, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is likely to form the next government in Odisha, leading with 80 seats as the vote counts progress.

Modi, Pattnaik prominent; V.K. Pandian absent: Odisha voters

In the sixth phase of the current Lok Sabha election, Odisha is uniquely positioned. Elections for state assembly are going to take place simultaneously. Rohan Dua, Executive Editor of the The New Indian visited Kendrapara to understand local sentiments around elections.

Puri election, local voices favour development, strong leadership

In the ongoing sixth phase of elections in Puri, Odisha, known as the "City of Jagannath," is a revered pilgrimage destination in Odisha, India. The New Indian team reaches to understand the sentiments of the local people. Sambit Patra from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Jay Narayan Patnaik from the Congress party and Arup Patnaik from the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), positioned in opposition. 

Mahtab’s move from BJD to BJP may shift Odisha politics

Mahtab's joining  BJP could provide a significant boost to the party's prospects in Odisha. As a seasoned politician with a strong track record and grassroots connections, Mahtab's inclusion may attract support from voters, particularly in key constituencies.

Electoral Bonds: BJP got Rs 6060 crore, TMC Rs 1,609 cr & Cong Rs 1421 cr | SBI Data

NEW DELHI: The State Bank of India (SBI) data submitted before the Election Commission of India (ECI) has revealed that the BJP, followed by West Bengal’s regional party Trinamool Congress (TMC) and Congress are the top three receivers of money donated via electoral bonds, among all the parties between 2019 and 2014. The New Indian […]

Odisha govt announces special security battalion for Puri’s Jagannath temple

The decision, greenlit by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, comes in response to recommendations by 5T chairman VK Pandian after thorough discussions with various stakeholders.

As ED probes her, Kavitha whips up women’s reservation frenzy

A day ahead of ED questioning, Telangana CM’s daughter Kavitha targets government on Women’s Reservation Bill; Brings 13 political parties together