Chhattisgarh election result 2023 LIVE: With BJP in the forefront, Arun Sao leaves CM decision to central leadership

| Updated: 03 December, 2023 11:01 am IST

NEW DELHI: Chhattisgarh voted on November 7 and 17, witnessing a combined turnout of 76.31 per cent across the two phases.

In December 2018, the state marked a historic moment by electing its first non-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in 15 years. The Congress secured a commanding victory with 68 seats in the 90-member assembly. In contrast, the BJP, which had been in power under Raman Singh’s leadership since the inaugural assembly election in December 2003, saw a significant decline, securing only 15 seats.

With BJP leading in the polls, the President of the state BJP Arun Sao has said that the Chief Minister will be decided by the MLAs and the central leadership.

While the initial results emerged, the Congress party is taking the lead in Chhattisgarh, raising optimism about maintaining its hold on power. However, recent polls show a slight lead in the state with BJP leading with 47 seats and having won eight seats; while Congress trailing behind with an optimistic 30 seats and five seats. The counting of postal ballots concluded at 8:30 am, and the process of counting through EVMs is currently in progress. Among the five states that underwent elections this time, Chhattisgarh stands out as the state where the ruling Congress is most likely to retain control. Exit polls have also suggested Chief Minister Baghel’s anticipated return for a second consecutive term, albeit with fewer seats.

In the period preceding the state Assembly elections, the Congress party in Chhattisgarh experienced internal divisions. However, attempts were made to downplay these differences by promoting State Minister T S Singh Deo, a prominent contender against CM Bhupesh Baghel, to the position of Deputy Chief Minister in June of this year. In contrast, the BJP entered the election without a distinct leader.

For the other two parties competing in the state, Gondvana Gantantra Party (GGP)  has so far managed to secure one constituency of Pali-Tanakha while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)has managed to also secure one constituency of Bilaigarh.

Also Read Story

Takeda and Biological E. collaborate on dengue vaccine production

Tata Memorial Hospital unveils ₹100 tablet to combat cancer relapse

Congress leader Vikramaditya Singh resigns amid political turmoil in Himachal

BJP calls for test of strength in Himachal Pradesh