Mizoram elections 2023 result: Witness Zoramthanga govt’s fate unfold on Dec 4

| Updated: 03 December, 2023 12:55 pm IST
Mizoram's electoral fate unfolded on December 4.

NEW DELHI: The conclusion of the Mizoram battle is approaching, and it is now the moment for the final revelation. The outcomes of the Mizoram Assembly Elections 2023 are scheduled for announcement on December 4, with the vote counting starting at 8 am. The Election Commission of India (ECI) will officially publish the results on its website. The polling in Mizoram took place in a single phase on November 7.

According to data from the ECI, Mizoram witnessed a 76.66 per cent voter turnout in the elections conducted for the 40 Assembly seats on November 7. Among the 11 districts in the state, Serchhip registered the highest turnout at 83.96 per cent. Conversely, the capital city Aizawl had the lowest turnout at 73.09 per cent.

Mizoram Exit Polls Result:

The Mizoram exit poll predicts a possible decisive triumph for the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), positioned to replace the Mizo National Front. Meanwhile, both the Congress and the BJP lag far behind, securing the third and fourth positions, respectively.

As per forecasts from the India Today-Axis My India survey, the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) is expected to attain 28-35 seats, while the Mizo National Front (MNF) may secure 3-7 seats out of the total 40. The Times Now-ETG projections indicate a closely contested battle, with ZPM projected to win 10-14 seats and MNF securing 14-18 seats. The Jan Ki Baat poll predicts 10-14 seats for MNF and 15-25 seats for ZPM. According to the India TV-CNX poll, MNF is anticipated to win 14-18 seats, while ZPM may secure 12-16 seats.

Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018:

The current ruling party, MNF, is vying for a consecutive second term in the 2023 Assembly elections, having previously governed for three terms since Mizoram became a state in 1987. In the 2018 Assembly election, the Mizo National Front (MNF) obtained 26 seats, with the Congress securing five seats, the BJP winning one seat, and the ZPM clinching eight seats. In the present electoral landscape, Mizoram Chief Minister Zoramthanga has conveyed optimism that his party will regain power, aiming to secure 25-35 seats in the upcoming polls.

In 2008, the Congress triumphed over the MNF, which had held power since 1998, securing 32 seats. Five years later, in the 2013’s Mizoram Assembly elections,  the Congress claimed victory with 34 seats, while the MNF only managed to secure five seats.

Also Read Story

Takeda and Biological E. collaborate on dengue vaccine production

Tata Memorial Hospital unveils ₹100 tablet to combat cancer relapse

Congress leader Vikramaditya Singh resigns amid political turmoil in Himachal

BJP calls for test of strength in Himachal Pradesh