Three tier security, elaborate preparation at counting centres across four states going for elections

KOLKATA | Updated: 03 December, 2023 12:08 pm IST
A voter poses for the camera during CG's second phase of polls (Photo: ECI)

KOLKATA: As counting for the four state assembly elections commences on Sunday morning, respective state election commissions have made elaborate preparations that include a three-layer security mechanism. 

Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Telangana is all set to go to counting for its assembly seats, while Mizoram awaits for December 4 following a shift in dates due to multiple requests.

All centres of the four states are prepared with a three-layer security mechanism in the counting centres, according to the state election commissions. 

The Chief Electoral Officer of Rajasthan Praveen Gupta earlier informed that the counting of votes in 199 assembly constituencies of the state will begin at 36 centres in 33 district headquarters from 8 AM today. 

A total of 4,180 rounds will be counted on 2552 tables in the midst of the three-tier security system in Rajasthan where primarily people will get to see a contest between the Congress and the BJP.

1,121 Assistant Returning Officers have been put on duty for counting of votes. Counting of votes will be done at two centres each in Jaipur, Jodhpur and Nagaur and at one centre each in the remaining 30 election districts. All preparations for counting of votes have been made

There will be videography and CCTV coverage of the vote-counting process. 

For the Chattisgarh Assembly Elections counting of votes will take place in all 90 assembly constituencies from 8 AM.

90 returning officers, 416 assistant returning officers, 4,596 enumerators and 1,698 micro-observers have been appointed for the counting of votes in 90 assembly constituencies in Chattisgarh.

90 counting observers have been appointed by the Election Commission of India for 90 assembly constituencies.

It has been informed that each hall will have a total of 14 tables of seven each for counting of votes + a table for counting postal ballots including the Returning Officer table.

The counting of votes for 230 assembly constituencies in Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections 2023 will start at 52 district headquarters today.

All District Election Officers, Police Commissioners and Superintendents of Police have been instructed to strictly follow the security norms. During the course of the elections, the day of counting has been declared a dry day.

The three-tier security arrangement has been ensured at the counting venue and only persons holding authorised passes will be able to enter. No unauthorised person will enter the counting centre, stated the Chief Electoral Officer.

Separate counting halls have been made for each assembly at the counting centre, where as per the instructions of the Commission, tables have been arranged for counting of EVMs and postal ballots. Randomisation of counting personnel will be done at 3 levels.

Observers have been appointed by the Commission for counting of votes in all the assembly constituencies, who have reached the districts. The second and third rounds of randomisation will be done in the presence of the observer.

ALSO READ: Election results 2023 LIVE: BJP surges ahead in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan

Also Read Story

Takeda and Biological E. collaborate on dengue vaccine production

Tata Memorial Hospital unveils ₹100 tablet to combat cancer relapse

Congress leader Vikramaditya Singh resigns amid political turmoil in Himachal

BJP calls for test of strength in Himachal Pradesh