Election results 2023 LIVE: BJP surges ahead in MP, Rajasthan

New Delhi | Updated: 03 December, 2023 10:35 am IST
BJP dominates assembly election results

NEW DELHI: Vote counting commenced for the consequential state assembly elections conducted in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Telangana this November. Preliminary indicators suggest that the Congress is in the lead in Telangana, surpassing the incumbent BRS party. Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao is leading in Gajwel but is trailing in Kamareddy. In Rajasthan, Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot is ahead in Sardarpura, with Sachin Pilot also leading in Tonk.

What We Know About Rajasthan Elections?

On November 25, elections took place for 199 out of the total 200 seats in the Rajasthan Assembly. The Congress is aspiring for a resurgence in a state that has not seen a repeated government in the last thirty years, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is striving to displace the Ashok Gehlot-led government. Exit polls indicated a closely contested battle between the two political parties in the state.

What We Know About Madhya Pradesh Elections?

The current ruling BJP is leading ahead of Congress in the state, according to exit polls. Several prominent figures, including Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, former Union Minister Narendra Singh Toma, Prahlad Singh Patel, Faggan Singh Kulaste, and former Chief Minister and Congress veteran Kamal Nath, are competing in the election. In 2018, the Congress became the largest single party, but the government fell in March 2020.

What We Know About Chhattisgarh Elections?

The Chhattisgarh elections took place on November 7 for 20 seats and on November 17 for the remaining 90. In the 2018 polls, the Congress secured victory by obtaining 68 out of the 90 seats, while the BJP was limited to only 15 seats. As the BJP strives to secure a win in the state, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel has confronted allegations of corruption related to the Mahadev Book App during the election campaign.

What We Know About Telangana Elections?

On November 30, elections took place for 119 seats in Telangana. According to exit polls, the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), led by Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao, is anticipated to secure only 34–44 seats, while the Congress is predicted to win 63–73 seats.

Also Read Story

United against terror, India’s National Anti-Terrorism Day on May 21

INTERVIEW| Amethi doesn’t have laapta sansad anymore, it has an address in Gauriganj: Smriti Irani

India’s favourite Bond turns 90

Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi, Foreign Minister die in a helicopter crash