BJP stuns with Mohan Yadav as MP CM; Vishnu Datt Sharma applauds merit-based choice

| Updated: 12 December, 2023 4:34 pm IST
state president, vishnu Datt Sharma hails Mohan Yadav as best choice for the CM of Madhya Pradesh

BHOPAL: In an unexpected turn of events, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has named three-time MLA and OBC leader Mohan Yadav as the next Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. The decision, announced by the BJP State President for Madhya Pradesh, Vishnu Datt Sharma, highlights the party’s commitment to merit-based leadership.


Travelling alongside the newly appointed CM Mohan Yadav, Sharma confirmed the news to The New Indian, stating, “Mohan Yadav has been chosen as the CM in the presence of the three central observers.” The selection process took place amid intense speculation, with various potential CM candidates gathering outside the BJP office.



As the news broke, the atmosphere among supporters turned into a mix of excitement and confusion. Sharma expressed gratitude to senior party leaders, including Prime Minister Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, and BJP President J P Nadda, emphasising the party’s dedication to performance-based appointments.


Sharma, 53, underscored the significance of choosing leaders based on merit and work, stating, “An ordinary party worker like Mohan Yadav has been chosen as the CM under the leadership of our Prime Minister.”



He further remarked, “MP ke mann me Modi aur Modi ke mann me MP (MP in Modi’s Heart, Modi in MP’s Hearts),” highlighting the unexpected selection of Yadav, who played a crucial role in the BJP’s victory in Ujjain.

In addition to Yadav’s appointment, the BJP announced Jagdish Devda and Rajendra Shukla as the new Deputy Chief Ministers of Madhya Pradesh. The decision marked a departure from strong contenders, solidifying Mohan Yadav’s rise in MP politics.

The announcement, made in the presence of three central observers – Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, OBC Morcha Head K Laxman, and Secretary Asha Lakra – signified the end of Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s 18-year-long tenure.

Also Read Story

New Delhi NEET paper solver gang busted; four arrested

Bibhav Kumar arrested in Swati Maliwal assault case

India, Pakistan advise students in Kyrgyzstan to stay indoors amid mob violence

Delhi Police record Swati Maliwal’s 164 CrPC statement