2024 Lok Sabha Elections: Bihar

Lok Sabha elections in Bihar would be conducted in seven phases, as the Election Commission of India announced on Saturday.

| Updated: 01 April, 2024 11:21 am IST
2024 Lok Sabha Elections: Bihar

Bihar is pivotal to Indian politics, renowned for shaping the nation’s political narrative. With Bihar’s 40 Lok Sabha seats, it wields considerable influence, ranking fourth among states. Recent developments, such as Nitish Kumar’s JDU aligning with the saffron party and Jitan Ram Manjhi’s HAM, alongside key defections, underscore the dynamic nature of Bihar’s political landscape. Lok Sabha elections in Bihar would be conducted in seven phases, as the Election Commission of India announced on Saturday.

Number of Constituencies:- 40

Polling Schedule and Constituencies:-
The polling will unfold in a seven phases
1st Phase: April 19, 2024


1. Aurangabad
2. Gaya
3. Nawada
4. Jamui

2nd Phase: April 26, 2024

1. Kishanganj
2. Katihar
3. Purnia
4. Bhagalpur
5. Banka

3rd Phase: May 07, 2024

1. Jhanjharpur
2. Supaul
3. Araria
4. Madhepura
5. Khagaria

4th Phase: May 13, 2024

1. Darbhanga
2. Ujiarpur
3. Samastipur
4. Begusarai
5. Munger

5th Phase: May 20, 2024

1. Sitamarhi
2. Madhubani
3. Muzaffarpur
4. Saran
5. Hajipur

6th Phase: May 25, 2024

1. Valmiki Nagar
2. Paschim Champaran
3. Purvi Champaran
4. Sheohar
5. Vaishali
6. GopalGanj
7. Siwan
8. Maharajaganj

7th Phase: June 01, 2024

1. Nalanda
2. Patna Sahib
3. Pataliputra
4. Arrah
5. Buxar
6. Sasaram
7. Karakat
8. Jahanabad

Number of Voters:-
The total number of qualified voters in Bihar is more than 7,64,33,329 which is up by 12,09,347 as compared to last year.

Contesting Parties:-
Lok Janshakti Party

Major Alliances:-
NDA: BJP, Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas), Hindustani Awam Morcha, Rashtriya Lok Morcha and JDU

Key Issues:-
1. Political instability: Bihar CM Nitish Kumar’s abrupt alliance switch caused political chaos.
2. Bihar faces challenges in industrialization, infrastructure, and job creation,
3. Poor education
4. High crime rates and mismanagement of law and order
5. Corruption and distress to farmers.

2019 Lok Sabha Results:-
Victory: In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Bihar witnessed a significant political showdown unfolding over seven phases from April 11 to 23. The electoral landscape saw the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) securing victory in 17 seats, closely followed by the Janata Dal (United) [JD(U)] with 16 seats, while the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) secured six seats. In contrast, the Indian National Congress (INC) managed to clinch only one seat in the state. BJP secured an absolute majority in the Lok Sabha with 282 seats. Conversely, the Congress faced a setback, recording its lowest-ever tally, managing to secure victory in only 44 constituencies.

Key Factors for NDA’s win:-
1. NDA’s alliance with parties like JD(U) and LJP helped consolidate votes across various sections of society.
2. The Narendra Modi factor played its part.
3. Strategic campaigning
4.Anti-incumbency coupled with the shadow of Lalu Yadav’s ‘jungle raj’, a tumultuous era Bihar had endured in the past, acted as formidable barriers, preventing people from voting for RJD.
5. The Ram Mandir issue
6. Caste-politics

Electors: 7,02,93,144
Votes Polled: 4,08,11,991
Turnout: 58.1%

Also Read Story

MEA issues advisory for Indians in Bangladesh amid violent protests

Maharashtra to celebrate Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj’s historic ‘Wagh Nakh’ return

All Telecommunications Act rules to be notified within 180 days: Scindia

Jyotiraditya Scindia Unveils Theme for India Mobile Congress 2024: “The Future is Now”