UN passes resolution for ‘immediate ceasefire’, Israel demands them to call Hamas offices

NEW DELHI | Updated: 13 December, 2023 9:33 pm IST
Israeli Ambassador demanded the UNGA to call upon the Hamas leader (Photo: Screengrab)

NEW DELHI: The United Nations General Assembly passed a resolution calling for an immediate ceasefire along the Gaza Strip, with 153 countries supporting it with Israel being one of the nations opposing it.

The Israeli Ambassador to the UN, Gilad Erdan, illustrated that until the Palestinian militant group, Hamas, surrenders all of its weapons, there will be no ceasefire.

“If you want a real ceasefire, call the Hamas offices in Gaza and ask for Yahya Sinwar. Tell him that when Hamas lays down its weapons, turns itself in and returns all the hostages, then there will be a real ceasefire that will last forever,” he said.

ALSO READ: Texas Supreme Court denies woman’s request for court-approved abortion

Erdan further went on to hold up a sign with Yahya Sinwar’s phone number, daring the GA to call him if “they truly care for a ceasefire”. “I honestly don’t know how someone can look into the mirror and support a resolution that doesn’t condemn Hamas and that doesn’t mention Hamas’s name. But you know, I have an idea. If you want a real ceasefire, here is the right address. This is the phone number of the Hamas office in Gaza. You can all call,” the Israeli Ambassador said.

Sinwar is the leader of the militant group, along the Gaza Strip. Israel had earlier declared his capture as one of the fundamental objectives of the assault.

Erdan went on to state that the resolution would not stop Israel to defend itself against entities wanting its destruction. “No piece of paper, especially the one by a biassed politicised majority, will prevent Israel from defending itself against those seeking our destruction,” he said.

India was among the nations who voted in favour of the ceasefire agreement. Among the ones who voted against the resolution were the United States, Israel, Austria, Czechia, Guatemala, Liberia, Micronesia, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, and Paraguay. On the other hand, 23 member countries chose to abstain from the resolution.

ALSO READ: Oops! Rishi Sunak locked out; what ensues is a must-watch

Also Read Story

Kejriwal denied access to case files: Supreme Court

SC grants interim bail to Kejriwal, but to remain in jail

CBI arrests alleged mastermind in NEET-UG paper leak case

J&K HC orders restoration of neglected Hindu shrines