Mukul Wasnik

Mukul Wasnik named senior observer for Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland

The Congress on Monday appointed observers for the upcoming assembly elections in Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland early next year, with party MP Mukul Wasnik being named senior observer for the three states. The development comes after Mukul Wasnik stepped down as in-charge of Madhya Pradesh, the Congress on Monday appointed observers for the upcoming assembly […]

Congress Chalks Out Strategy To Make Protest A Success

NEW DELHI: Ahead of the party’s massive nationwide protest against the ‘record-breaking’ price rise and unemployment on August 5, the Congress on Tuesday held a preparatory meeting to chalk out the strategy to make it a success. A meeting was held at the Congress headquarters in New Delhi which was chaired by party general secretary […]

Congress Seeks Disqualification Of Lobo, Kamat From Goa Assembly

PANAJI: The Congress on Monday sought disqualification of two of its leaders – Michael Lobo and former chief minister Digambar Kamat – from the Assembly. Congress alleged that the two senior functionaries were trying to “engineer a defection” in the party for a switchover to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Both the leaders have […]

Fearing Desertions, Congress Sends Wasnik To Goa

PANAJI: Amidst fear of desertions, Congress today sent party general secretary and Rajya Sabha MP Mukul Wasnik to Goa to oversee the latest political developments in the state. Months after defeat in the assembly polls earlier this year, the Congress on Sunday once again faced another crisis as former Goa chief minister Digambar Kamat and […]

Befitting Reply: Raj CM After Congress Wins 3 RS Seats

  JAIPUR: Congress on Friday won three, out of four, Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan with cross-voting by BJP members. The BJP has managed to win one seat, while independent candidate and media baron Subhash Chandra lost. The Congress has fielded Mukul Wasnik, Randeep Singh Surjewala and Pramod Tewari as its candidates for the Rajya […]

No Priyanka, Congress Names 10 For RS

NEW DELHI: Ending all speculations, Congress will not nominate Priyanka Gandhi Vadra for Rajya Sabha. The Congress on Sunday released the list of party candidates for Rajya Sabha. The list, announced by Congress interim chief Sonia Gandhi, includes the names of former finance minister P Chidambaram, former Union ministers Jairam Ramesh and Ajay Maken among […]