Nobody’s mother, son or sister selects CMs or PMs in BJP: MLA Balmukund Acharya

JAIPUR | Updated: 12 December, 2023 9:24 pm IST
Balmukund Acharya spoke exclusively to The New Indian

JAIPUR: Following Bhajan Lal Sharma’s selection as the Chief Minister of Rajasthan, MLA Balmukund Acharya swiped at the Opposition stating that an “ordinary” party worker can only become a CM in the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

“It is only here at the BJP that an ordinary karyakarta can become the CM of a state. Baaki aur partiyon me toh mummy, beta, didi aur jijaji tay karte hai (Other parties have mothers, sons, sisters and brothers-in-law decide who becomes the CM),” Acharya said. 



He further highlighted that it was only the BJP family that could choose and select a chaiwallah and a person who has worked for the party throughout his life to such important positions. “The entirety of the BJP family is extremely glad with the CM choice. Sirf BJP mein ek chaiwallah pradhanmantri bann sakta hai aur ek karyakarta, jisne itne saal kaam kiya hai, ek mukhyamantri (It is only at the BJP that a tea-seller can become the Prime Minister, while an ordinary party worker, who has worked for the party for so long, can become the CM)” he said.

Sharma’s appointment as the CM took the entirety of the Indian polity by storm, marking him as the third entrant in the list of BJP’s surprise picks for the coveted post.



Additionally, the saffron party had inducted two similarly low profile party workers into the CM fold in both Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh. In MP, the BJP had inducted Mohan Yadav, ending Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s 17 years of hegemony in the state, while inducting Vishnu Deo Sai as the CM of Chhattisgarh. 



Both the inclusions in the two states saw the BJP creating formidable narratives, with Yadav catering to the 42 per cent OBC community in the state, while Sai became the first tribal CM in the state’s history. 

On the other hand, the saffron party was able to claim 115 of the 199 seats in Rajasthan, guaranteeing the desert state’s adherence to its political culture of anti-incumbency. 

ALSO READ: Rajasthan CM: BJP’s Bhajan Lal Sharma joins Vishnu and Mohan as 3rd kamal

Also Read Story

Sankalp Patra : PM Modi Vows to Empower Youth, Women, Poor, and Farmers

Iran seizes cargo ship ‘MSC Aries’ with 17 Indian nationals onboard

BJP Unveils ‘Modi Ki Guarantee’ for 2024 Elections: Promises 6G, Free Ration for poor

AAP Pledges full support to India United Front in upcoming elections