LAST MINUTE TWIST: 25 parties back Modi-led BJP, pip Congress’ 19 party opposition to new Parliament

Big jolt to opposition parties’ attempt to boycott the event as many non-NDA parties too will attend the function where PM Narendra Modi will inaugurate the new Parliament building

| Updated: 25 May, 2023 7:39 pm IST

NEW DELHI: With less than 72 hours to go for the inauguration of India’s new parliament building, as many as 25 political parties have now announced their support.

The latest development will be a blow to the Congress-led opposition’s attempt to boycott the event. The fresh development is also likely to have a big impact on the 2024 elections, sources in the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) told The New Indian.

Sources in the BJP said that apart from the BJP, Shiv Sena (Shinde), AIADMK, National People’s Party of Meghalaya, Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party, Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, Jan-Nayak Party, IMKMK, AJSU, RPI, Mizo National Front, Tamil Manila Congress, Tripura’s ITFT, Bodo People’s Party, Pattali Makkal Kacchi, Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, Apna Dal and Assam Gana Parishad.

But it is not the BJP-led NDA bloc parties that will attend the inauguration function on May 28. Various non-NDA parties will also attend the function.

ALSO READ: Parliament inauguration: BSP, BJD oppose Cong, say will participate in event

The non-NDA parties include the Lok Janshakti Party (Paswan), BJD, BSP, TDP and YSRCP. It is also learned that Akali Dal and Janata Dal (Secular) will also attend the function where Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the new building.

The opposition parties seem to be leaving no stone unturned to show unity, as a host of political parties have decided to skip the inauguration of the new parliament building on May 28.

Soon after the central government’s announcement that the new parliament building will be inaugurated by PM Modi, opposition parties raised questions on why the President of India, who is the first citizen of the country, is not inaugurating the building.

ALSO READ: Opposition to skip parliament building inauguration

The opposition camp has alleged that the central government is using the new Parliament building as a propaganda tool.

Former Union minister Lalu Prasad Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) on Wednesday said that they will not also skip the inauguration of the new parliament building.

“When we got to know that the PM himself would inaugurate the new parliament building. We present our views that this is a matter that the President should have inaugurated because the President is the constitutional head. But it is the choice of the PM and he never listens to others,” RJD MP Manoj Jha told The New Indian.

WATCH: What is ‘Sengol’ that Modi Govt Plans to Place in the New Parliament building?

“All the opposition parties thought of sending out a message. People will know that most of the parties hailed the constitution with the highest regard and never accepted anything that would dent the highest post of the President of India. I still will request PM that there is a dire need for course correction,” Jha added.

“The party has taken the decision not to go to the inauguration of the new parliament building,” Trinamool Congress Lok Sabha leader Sudip Banerjee said.

Sources in the party said that the Mamata Banerjee-led TMC is questioning why the President of India, who holds the highest constitutional post, is not inaugurating the building.

Echoing the sentiments, Communist Party of India (Marxist) national general secretary Sitaram Yechury stated, “Modi bypassed the President when the foundation stone for the new Parliament building was laid. Now, too, at the inauguration. Unacceptable.”

The Congress party is also considering boycotting the inauguration of the new Parliament building. Sources in the party said that they would release a statement shortly.

The Communist Party of India (CPI) general secretary, D Raja, also confirmed that the party will not attend the inauguration ceremony.

Also Read Story

Terrorist associated with LeT killed in Bandipora encounter

Rahul Gandhi to retain Rae Bareli, Priyanka Gandhi to contest from Wayanad

PM Modi to release Rs 20,000 Cr under PM-KISAN scheme during Varanasi visit

Congress criticizes Modi after West Bengal train collision