Parliament inauguration: BSP, BJD oppose Cong, say will participate in event

| Updated: 25 May, 2023 6:48 pm IST

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati on Thursday in a series of tweets voiced her disapproval towards the opposition parties for their decision to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. She stated that the central government has the right to inaugurate the building since they were responsible for its construction.

Mayawati deemed the boycott unreasonable and unfair in her tweet. She stated, “The boycott is unjust. The government has constructed it, so they have the rightful authority to inaugurate it. It is also unfair to link this with the respect of tribal women. If they really cared about President Murmu’s respect they would have allowed her to run unopposed. They should have considered these factors when fielding a candidate against her.”

In her tweet, Mayawati emphasized the BSP’s consistent support for the central administration, irrespective of whether it was led by the Congress party or the BJP. She highlighted the party’s dedication to prioritizing the interests of the country and the public over party politics. However, Mayawati clarified that she would be unable to attend the event due to prior commitments.

Mayawati stated, “I have received the invitation for the program dedicated to the country, which is the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament House. I am grateful for it and convey my best wishes. However, due to my prior commitments involving ongoing review meetings of the party, I regretfully cannot attend the function.”

On Wednesday, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), the ruling party in Odisha, announced their participation in the upcoming inauguration of the new Parliament building on May 28. The BJD emphasized the significance of upholding the sanctity and honor of Constitutional institutions, stating that they should transcend any issues that may arise. In a statement, the regional party reaffirmed their commitment to being part of this important occasion.

Similarly, YSRCP president and Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy, confirmed on Wednesday that his party would also participate in the inauguration.

A collective statement issued by 19 national and regional opposition parties expressed their strong condemnation of Prime Minister Modi’s decision to dedicate the building on Sunday without the participation of President Droupadi Murmu.

They regarded this action not only as a serious insult but also as a direct attack on democracy.

Also Read Story

New Delhi NEET paper solver gang busted; four arrested

Bibhav Kumar arrested in Swati Maliwal assault case

India, Pakistan advise students in Kyrgyzstan to stay indoors amid mob violence

Delhi Police record Swati Maliwal’s 164 CrPC statement