JCB Prize for Literature 2024 unveils diverse jury panel

| Updated: 12 April, 2024 12:08 pm IST

NEW DELHI: The JCB Prize for Literature, a beacon for literary excellence in India, has revealed its jury lineup for the 2024 edition. Comprising luminaries from various artistic disciplines, the jury members are poised to unearth the most exceptional works of fiction from the vast landscape of Indian literature.

Jerry Pinto (Chair)

Leading the jury for 2024 is author, translator, and poet Jerry Pinto, who expressed his honour and enthusiasm for the role. “Honored to be asked to chair the jury of the JCB Prize,” Pinto remarked. “What could be better than discussing books with a group of interesting people for the better part of a year?”  He is the author of Em and the Big Hoom, a novel that won him The Crossword Prize, the Hindu Lit for Life Award, and the Sahitya Akademi Award.


Deepthi Sasidharan

Joining Pinto is Deepthi Sasidharan, an eminent art historian and curator known for her dedication to preserving India’s cultural heritage.  Notable among her projects are the archival initiatives for Kalakshetra in Chennai, City Palace in Udaipur, Mumbai Police, and Tata Trusts in Mumbai.




Shaunak Sen

Shaunak Sen, an Academy Award-nominated filmmaker and writer acclaimed for his groundbreaking documentaries will also be a part of the jury. His film  All That Breathes received nominations at the 2023 Academy and BAFTA awards. The film won awards at Cannes, Sundance, BFI London, IDA Cinema Eye, and 24 other film festivals.



Tridip Suhrud

Tridip Suhrud, a scholar, writer, and translator specialising in the Gandhian intellectual tradition will also be one of the jury members. Tridip is a Professor and Provost at CEPT University, Director of Lalbhai Dalpatbhai Institute of Indology, Ahmedabad and serves as Chairman of the Governing Council of MICA.




Aqui Thami

The sixth jury member, as announced by The JCB Prize for Literature is Aqui Thami, an accomplished artist and academic dedicated to using art as a medium of healing and community engagement. Sister Library (@sister.library) founded by Aqui is an evolving artwork that engages in in-depth reflection on the visual and reading culture of our times. It is also the first traveling, community and community-run feminist library in South Asia.

Each member of the jury brings a wealth of expertise and a unique perspective to the table, reflecting the rich diversity of India’s literary and cultural landscape. Their collective commitment to discovering and celebrating outstanding literary works underscores the significance of the JCB Prize in recognising and promoting contemporary Indian literature.

The JCB Prize for Literature, established in 2018, aims to elevate the prestige of literary achievement in India and foster greater visibility for indigenous voices. Supported by JCB India Ltd., a leading manufacturer of construction equipment, and overseen by the JCB Literature Foundation, the prize has become a pivotal event in the country’s literary calendar.

ALSO READ: JCB Literature Foundation debuts at Serendipity Arts Festival – THE NEW INDIAN 

Mita Kapur, Literary Director of The JCB Prize for Literature, emphasised the importance of the award in recognizing and showcasing the diverse literary talent across India. “The jury for this year is multi-faceted and brings spirited energy and commitment to awarding exceptional writing and magnificent stories,” Kapur remarked.

In previous years, the JCB Prize has celebrated outstanding works such as “Fire Bird” by Perumal Murugan, “The Paradise of Food” by Khalid Jawed, and “Delhi: A Soliloquy” by M. Mukundan, among others. The 2024 edition promises to continue this tradition of excellence, with key dates including the announcement of the longlist in September, the shortlist in October, and the awards ceremony in November.

Also Read Story

Bibhav Kumar, Kejriwal’s aide, sent to 4-day custody in Maliwal case

World Schizophrenia Day 2024: Reasons and Treatment

Pune Porsche crash: Teen’s bail revoked, adult trial ordered

Delhi braces for intense 2024 Lok Sabha battle