Forget media, even we MPs didn’t know about decision: MP MLA Riti Pathak

| Updated: 12 December, 2023 1:48 pm IST

BHOPAL: Newly-elected Sidhi MLA and former BJP MP Riti Pathak, who resigned as a parliamentarian following the party’s landslide win, said on Monday that decisions on appointment of a chief minister under the new BJP regime are now a closed door affair to maintain the sanctity of the party’s internal democracy.

“Forget media, even we MPs didn’t know about decision. Many media people approached me to enquire about me and also expressed personal disappointment that why certain seniors were left out as if these journalists were involved in some arrangement. That shows how democratic we are that no body knew about the outcome. Even We came to know when we arrived at the BJP’s MP office in Bhopal,” Pathak told The New Indian.


Pathak said that BJP’s traditions and party culture under new leadership is now such that an ordinary ‘Karyakarta’ (worker) is made MP CM.

“A true testament to the rich tapestry of BJP’s culture is Mohan Yadav’s appointment as MP’s CM echoes the party’s commitment to excellence”, she said, while shares insights.

READ MORE: Breaking: Mohan Yadav to become next CM of Madhya Pradesh

The announcement to make Dr Mohan Yadav as the chief minister came as a surprise to many in MP.

Pathak said it wasn’t clear what MPs or Union ministers, who either resigned to become legislators would do but party has taught them to make sacrifices.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by New Indianmedia (@thenewindian_in)

“We are like that. Whatever the party’s decision and instructions are, we follow that path,” said Pathak.

Upon being asked why communication within the BJP was being conveyed through a memo from Delhi than decisions being made discussed before the elected legislators, Pathak said, “The secrets of the families should remain within the family”.

READ MORE: Kerala governor accuses CM Vijayan of orchestrating attack on convoy

Pathak had recently won from Sidhi by defeating Congress’ Gyan Singh by 88664 votes.

She had won Lok Sabha in 2019 by a margin of 1,08,046 votes against Congress’ Inderjeet Kumar Patel.




Also Read Story

CM Yogi Adityanath concludes strategy meeting for upcoming by-elections

NASSCOM urges withdrawal of Karnataka’s State Employment Bill

Two fires erupt in Delhi overnight: Narela Factory, Gulati Restaurant affected

CBI arrests two more accused in NEET-UG paper leak case