With Hardik As Skipper, Sachin Picks His IPL 2022 XI

| Updated: 31 May, 2022 7:38 pm IST


BENGALURU: Cricketing maestro Sachin Tendulkar on Tuesday picked his Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 team based on the individual performances of players during the tournament. Prominent names such as Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma failed to make the cut as Sachin didn’t go by reputation or their past performances.

“It’s got nothing to do with players’ reputation or their past performances. It is purely based on their performances this season and what they have been able to achieve this season,” he said about his XI.

The batting legend chose Hardik Pandya, who led Gujarat Titans to the championship win, as the captain of his team. “Hardik was the standout captain this season. He was clear in his mind and proactive. I always say that don’t regret, celebrate. If you are able to celebrate, it means the captain is outsmarting the opposition and that is what Hardik did,” he stated. Hardik also made 487 runs in the tournament and racked up 8 wickets.

Jos Buttler, who thumped 864 runs and four tons in the season for Rajasthan Royals, and Shikhar Dhawan were picked as the openers, while Lucknow Super Giants skipper KL Rahul was chosen to bat at No.3. “I really like his stability and consistency. He is a player who can pick singles and when he wants to hit sixes he has the ability to do that as well,” said Tendulkar about Rahul, who racked up two hundreds in the season.

David Miller, Liam Livingstone and Dinesh Karthik are his No.5, 6 and 7 respectively. “Miller showed tremendous form, very good consistency and played some crucial knocks. What I observed this season was that he was able to hit all sides of the ground. It was proper cricketing shots and it was a treat to watch,” he reasoned.

“Livingstone has the ability to hit sixes and is a dangerous player. He is very clear in his mind and backs himself. Dinesh Karthik showed extraordinary consistency this season. I felt he looked calm and composed. He looked in control,” the master explained.

Miller amassed 481 runs in the tournament at an astounding average of 68.71 and was instrumental in Gujarat’s success, while Livingstone – playing for Punjab Kings – smashed 437 runs at a scorching strike-rate of 182.08. Both of them played the role of finishers exceptionally for their respective teams.

Yuzvendra Chahal, who grabbed the Purple Cap with 27 scalps, and Rashid Khan are the spin duo chosen by the ‘Master Blaster’. Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah are picked as the team’s pacers.

Sachin’s IPL 2022 XI: Jos Buttler, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya (captain), David Miller, Liam Livingstone, Dinesh Karthik, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Also Read Story

Bibhav Kumar, Kejriwal’s aide, sent to 4-day custody in Maliwal case

World Schizophrenia Day 2024: Reasons and Treatment

Pune Porsche crash: Teen’s bail revoked, adult trial ordered

Delhi braces for intense 2024 Lok Sabha battle