UP Polls: BJP Denied Tickets To Wives By Opting For Their Husbands

| Updated: 07 February, 2022 4:28 pm IST

New Delhi: The Congress and the ruling BJP on Monday released the list of 28 and 45 candidates respectively for Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls. In an interesting development, the BJP has denied tickets to two sitting women MLAs and fielded their husbands instead.

The BJP has fielded Sanjay Singh from Amethi after dropping his first wife and current MLA, Garima Singh from the seat. Likewise, the BJP has chosen to field Daya Shankar Singh from Ballia assembly seat in place of Swati Singh.

Sanjay Singh hails from the erstwhile royal family of Amethi and had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 2019 after quitting the Congress. Garima Singh had defeated Sanjay Singh’s second wife and Congress candidate Ameeta Singh from the seat in 2017 assembly polls. Garima is also related to former Prime Minister VP Singh.

Sanjay Singh would be fighting Congress candidate Ashish Shukla for Amethi assembly seat.

From Padrauna in Kushinagar district, the saffron party has fielded Manish Jaiswal, quashing rumours of probable candidature of RPN Singh, who had recently joined BJP after ditching the Congress.

The BJP has replaced at least 15 of its sitting MLAs in the eastern UP assembly constituencies that are going to the polls in the sixth and seventh phase. Seven women figure in the candidate list.

The BJP has shifted Uttar Pradesh Minister Anand Swaroop Shukla to Bairia Assembly constituency in Ballia district, where controversial MLA Surendra Singh has been dropped. Surendra Singh, meanwhile, announced that he would be contesting as an independent candidate in the coming elections.

From Lambhua in Sultanpur, the BJP has dropped its sitting MLA, Deomani Tripathi and fielded Sitaram Varma instead. Tripathi was in the news for writing letters to Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath highlighting atrocities against Brahmins.

Vinod Singh, a former minister during the Mayawati government, has been given a BJP ticket from Sultanpur.

On the other hand, the newly released Congress list of 28 candidates for UP includes 10 women. The party has replaced Kamla Sisodiya with Santosh Kumari from Mankapir reserved seat and fielded Priyanka Yadav from Ghosi and Sonia Shukla from Chillupar assembly seats.

The polling for the 403 member assembly is scheduled to be held in seven phases from February 10 to March 7. Counting of votes will take place on March 10.

The ruling BJP is eyeing a second consecutive term in the state while the resurgent Congress under the leadership of Priyanka Gandhi Vadra is trying to regain lost ground in the politically vibrant state. The Samajwadi Party is being conspired as one of the main competitors in the assembly polls against the BJP.

Also Read Story

Kerala gears up for major shift in IT hiring process

Sankalp Patra : PM Modi Vows to Empower Youth, Women, Poor, and Farmers

Iran seizes cargo ship ‘MSC Aries’ with 17 Indian nationals onboard

BJP Unveils ‘Modi Ki Guarantee’ for 2024 Elections: Promises 6G, Free Ration for poor