‘They Haven’t Expressed Remorse’: Venkaiah Naidu Refuses To Revoke Suspension Of RS MPs

| Updated: 30 November, 2021 3:14 pm IST

NEW DELHI: Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu on Tuesday rejected the Opposition’s appeal for revocation of suspension of 12 MPs since they have not expressed remorse.

“Suspended MPs have not expressed remorse. I am not considering the appeal of Leader of Opposition (the Congress’ Mallikarjun Kharge). Suspension will not be revoked,” Naidu said.

The 12 MPs were suspended from the entire session of Parliament for “misbehaviour” on August 11, the last day of the previous session.

Naidu made the comments this morning, after which angry opposition parties walked out.

Earlier 16 parties, barring the Trinamool Congress, met Naidu. They said that if the suspension is not revoked, they intend to boycott today’s Rajya Sabha session.

The 16 parties included the Congress, the DMK, the Shiv Sena and NCP, the CPM and CPI, the RJD, J&K’s National Conference, the Telangana Rashtra Samiti, and the Aam Aadmi Party.

Earlier in the day, leaders of opposition parties meet at LoP Rajya Sabha Kharge’s office at Parliament to decide on the course of action.

The 16 opposition parties leaders attended the meeting at Kharge’s office.

The Congress-led opposition also staged a walkout from the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha to protest the suspension of 12 opposition members of the Upper House.

After the walkout, opposition MPs demonstrated outside Mahatma Gandhi’s statue inside Parliament complex, raising slogans against the government and its “dictatorial attitude”.

A day after the MPs were suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the entire winter session, the Congress said the move was against the rules and practices of the House.

Speaking to media after the walkout from the Lok Sabha, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, Congress leader in the Lok Sabha, said, “We have decided to oppose the way democracy has been tattered in Rajya Sabha by suspending 12 MPs. We have decided to oppose such dictatorial attitude of the government.”

He said that this government is not giving opposition MPs the opportunity to speak inside the house.

“The government wants to threaten the opposition and suppress their voice by suspending its members in Rajya Sabha. We cannot keep quiet about the suspension of our members in the Rajya Sabha,” Chowdhury said.

His party colleague Anand Sharma, Congress deputy leader in the Rajya Sabha, said the opposition is seriously concerned over the developments. What has happened is in violation of precedents, rules and practices, Sharma added.

Earlier in the day, Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Pralhad Joshi said that to maintain the dignity of the House, the government was compulsorily forced to place this proposal of suspension before the House.

“But if these 12 MPs still apologise to the Speaker and the House for their misbehaviour, then the government is also ready to consider their proposal,” Joshi added.

Former Congress chief Rahul Gandhi also took to Twitter to slam the government and said, “Apology for what? For raising the issues of people in Parliament? Never.”

Twelve MPs, six from Congress, two each from Shiv Sena and Trinamool Congress and one each from CPI(M) and CPI for entire session of Winter Session of Parliament.

Also Read Story

Rahul Gandhi to retain Rae Bareli, Priyanka Gandhi to contest from Wayanad

PM Modi to release Rs 20,000 Cr under PM-KISAN scheme during Varanasi visit

Congress criticizes Modi after West Bengal train collision

US security adviser Sullivan visits India to advance India-US strategic partnership