The Men & The Margin: BJP Candidates & Their Nearest Rivals In Goa Elections

| Updated: 10 March, 2022 8:16 pm IST

NEW DELHI: In an unprecedented development, the incumbent BJP is going to claim its third term in Goa. No party has gained the power corridor of Goa consecutively before this. BJP has tasted massive success, despite challenges from the main rival Congress, the Revolutionary Goans Party, and a set of independent candidates.

Albeit with a margin of just 666 votes, Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant has vanquished Dharmesh Saglani of the Congress from his fort Sanquelim. Sawant has drawn a vote share of 47.72 percent.

BJP’s Atanasio Monserrate has defeated Utpal Manohar Parrikar, son of CM Manohar Parrikar by 716 votes. His vote share is 38.96. Monserrate’s wife Jennifer Monserrate who fought from Taleigao has won by 2041 votes, trouncing Congress candidate Tony Alfredo Rodrigues. She has a tremendous vote share of 43.38 percent.

The other BJP leader Rane couple has elicited an overwhelming response from Poriem and Valpoi. In Valpoi, Vishwajit Pratap Singh Rane has defeated the Revolutionary Goans Party candidate by 8085 votes. Deivya Rane has defeated AAP by 13,943 votes in Poriem. They have a vote share count of 53.62 and 60.92 percent respectively.

Flaunted by a vote share of 55.16 percent, Rohan Khaunte of BJP has defeated Congress by 8,119 votes.

With a vote share of 44.06 percent, Joshua Peter de Souza has defeated congress contestant Sudhir Rama Kandolkar by 1647 votes.

Nilkanth Ramnath Halarnkar has won from the Tivim constituency by 2051 votes. In this constituency, TMC fielded  Kavita Kandolkar, who bagged 7383 votes.

In Pernem, Pravin Prabhakar Arlekar has defeated Maharashtrawadi Gomantak candidate Rajan Babuso Korgaonkar by 3418 votes.

Premendra Vishnu Shet of BJP has pulled 30.89 percent of votes. He is ahead of his close electoral rival Santosh Sawant of Goa Forward Party by 3136 votes.

Following a neck-to-neck fight in Priol, Govind Shepu Gaude of BJP has claimed victory against Pandurang Alias Deepak Dhavalikar, a representative of Pandurang Alias Deepak Dhavalikar. The two have a difference of just 213 votes.

In Siroda constituency, Subhash Shirodkar of the BJP has won by 2174 votes. A fierce fight also ensued in the Ponda assembly. Ketan Prabhu Bhatikar of Maharashtrawadi Gomantak has lost to BJP’s Ravi Naik by just 77 votes.

With a vote share of 44.77 percent, BJP’s Ganesh Gaonkar has defeated independent candidate  Deepak Prabhu Pauskar by 5,190 votes in Sanvordem

Also Read Story

Change at the top of NTA amid NEET controversy

Punjab Girl’s “Jannat Hai” Kashmir Video Melts Hearts

CSIR-UGC-NET postponed amid paper leak controversy

J&K Police close to busting terror network aiding infiltration