Srinagar Lok Sabha: 29 Approved, 10 Rejected after approval

| Updated: 29 April, 2024 3:00 pm IST

Srinagar: On Wednesday, the scrutiny of nomination papers for the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat concluded at the Office of the Returning Officer 02-Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency. Out of 39 nomination papers received, 29 were deemed valid by Returning Officer Dr. Bilal Mohi-Ud-Din Bhat, in adherence to Election Commission guidelines.

Among the approved candidates are Aga Syed Ruhullah Mehdi of JKNC, Mohammad Ashraf Mir of J&K Apni Party, and Waheed ur Rehman Parra of J&K PDP. Additionally, 20 independent candidates, including Sheeban Ashahi and Nissar Ahmad Ahangar, saw their nominations accepted.

ALSO READ: 2024 Lok Sabha Elections: Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) – THE NEW INDIAN

However, the candidature of Salman Sagar from JKNC was nullified due to the formal approval of the main JKNC candidate. Meanwhile, 10 candidates faced rejection as their nomination papers were deemed invalid during scrutiny.

The scrutiny process took place in the presence of General Observer Mukul Kumar and contesting candidates. Withdrawal of nominations can be done until April 29, 2024, before 3:00 pm at the Office of the Returning Officer.

The 02-Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency is set for elections in the 4th phase of the General Lok Sabha Elections-2024 on May 13, 2024.

Also Read Story

MEA issues advisory for Indians in Bangladesh amid violent protests

Maharashtra to celebrate Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj’s historic ‘Wagh Nakh’ return

Jyotiraditya Scindia Unveils Theme for India Mobile Congress 2024: “The Future is Now”

India will lead in 6G: Scindia at World Mobile Congress theme launch event