Galaxy of CMs from BJP ruled states attend MP CM’s oathtaking

BHOPAL | Updated: 13 December, 2023 2:17 pm IST
All of the who's who of the Bharatiya Janata Party had convened at the swearing in ceremony (TNI Photo by Sumit Kumar)

BHOPAL: On Wednesday, Mohan Yadav arrived in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, to officially become the new Chief Minister of the state, replacing Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

His election to the post was done in the presence of multiple senior leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde and Deputy CM Devendra Fadnavis, Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma, Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath, alongside Chouhan. Moreover, apart from the who’s who of the particular states, the ceremony was also attended by Road and Infrastructure Minister Nitin Gadkari.


Alongside Yadav, Deputy CMs Jagdish Devda and Rajendra Shukla also claimed their berths in the Cabinet during the course of the ceremony.

Earlier on Monday, the now incumbent CM had been declared as the saffron party’s choice for the CM’s office, sidelining 17 years of Chouhan’s domination as MP CM. Among the other hopefuls, Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi, and party’s National General Secretary and former mayor of Indore, Kailash Vijayvargiya, were all in the race to be declared the state’s CM.


During the course of the oath-taking ceremony, BJP National President JP Nadda was also seen at the event, as he congratulated Yadav for claiming the CMO.


The new CM had successfully defended his Ujjain seat with a margin of 12,941 votes against Congress candidate Chetan Premnarayan Yadav. Consequently, he had cruised to success in the nail-biter amassing 95,699 votes. On the other hand, Devda had won from his Malhargarh constituency with a margin of 11,872 votes, while Shukla won a decisive victory from Rewa with a margin of 21,399 votes, defeating Congress’ Er. Rajendra Sharma in the constituency.

Presently, the saffron party is also awaiting the oath-taking ceremonies in both Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan — with Vishnu Deo Sai awaiting his CM ceremony in the former, while Bhajan Lal Sharma awaits in the latter state.

ALSO READ: Rajasthan CM: BJP’s Bhajan Lal Sharma joins Vishnu and Mohan as 3rd kamal

Also Read Story

CM Yogi Adityanath concludes strategy meeting for upcoming by-elections

NASSCOM urges withdrawal of Karnataka’s State Employment Bill

Two fires erupt in Delhi overnight: Narela Factory, Gulati Restaurant affected

CBI arrests two more accused in NEET-UG paper leak case