Dr Jitendra Singh’s 3rd PMO term, retains 6 Ministries

| Updated: 11 June, 2024 5:23 pm IST

JAMMU: Union Minister Dr. Jitendra Singh is set to serve in the influential Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) for a record third consecutive term, a significant milestone in the history of independent India. In addition to his PMO role, Dr. Singh will retain leadership of six other ministries he previously managed.

In the 2024 parliamentary elections, Dr Jitendra, as BJP nominee, defeated Congress candidate Chowdhary Lal Singh by a margin of 1,24,373 votes, from Udhampur Lok Sabha seat.

In 2019, Dr. Jitendra Singh secured the Udhampur-Kathua-Doda Lok Sabha seat by defeating his closest rival, Congress candidate Vikramaditya Singh, with a margin of 3.57 lakh votes. His victory was among the ten largest margins recorded nationwide in 2019.

In 2014, Dr. Jitendra Singh earned the nickname “giant-killer” after defeating the former Chief Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, who was then a Congress candidate, by a margin of 62,000 votes.

ALSO READ: Former CMs defeated: BJP, NC share seats, one Independent – THE NEW INDIAN

Born on November 6, 1956, to Rana Rajinder Singh and Shanti Devi, Dr. Jitendra Singh, a medical professional, gained prominence during the Shri Amarnath land row in 2008. After being elected as an MP for the first time in 2014, he was appointed Union Minister of State in the PMO. He retained this position and was given additional key ministries (independent charge) during his second term, starting in 2019.

Dr. Jitendra Singh’s brother, Devender Singh Rana, was a close aide to former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah. Devender was recruited by National Conference chief Farooq Abdullah in 2001 and later became an advisor to Omar Abdullah during his tenure as Chief Minister. Eleven years later, Jitendra, a decade older than Devender, also entered politics but with the BJP. His rapid ascent began during the peak of the Amarnath land row in 2008 when right-wing parties, leading the agitation under the Shri Amarnathji Sangharsh Samiti (SASS), needed a spokesperson.

ALSO READ: Kashmir’s new MPs: Rasheed, Ruhullah, Mian Altaf – THE NEW INDIAN 

According to the Cabinet Secretariat’s list released on Monday evening, detailing the portfolio allocations for ministers sworn in alongside Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Dr. Jitendra Singh, Union Minister of State with Independent Charge, will continue his tenure in the PMO. This unprecedented third term is bolstered by his continued oversight of six key ministries: Science & Technology, Earth Sciences, Personnel (DoPT), Administrative Reforms, Public Grievances & Pensions, Atomic Energy, and Space.

In his capacity as Minister Incharge of the Department of Personnel & Training (DoPT), Dr. Singh will oversee the Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA) in Mussoorie. LBSNAA is tasked with training new civil servants, including IAS officers, before their formal assignments. Additionally, Dr. Singh will supervise the administrative functions of major agencies affiliated with the DoPT, such as the Central Administrative Tribunal (CAT), the Central Vigilance Commission (CVC), and the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI).

Dr. Singh will also continue his role as National Chairman of the Indian Institute of Public Administration (IIPA), a prestigious institution headquartered in the national capital, with local chapters across all states.

Over his previous terms, Dr. Singh has been credited with significant reforms across his ministries. These include the abolition of interviews in job selections, the launch of the Rozgar Mela and Mission Karmayogi in the DoPT, and the introduction of Assistant Secretary training for IAS officers before they join their respective state cadres. He has also spearheaded numerous pension reforms benefiting divorced daughters, missing employees, and Divyangs.

In the realm of science and technology, Dr. Singh has been instrumental in landmark achievements such as the Chandrayaan-3 and Aditya-L1 space missions. He played a pivotal role in opening the space sector to Public-Private Partnerships (PPP), fostering greater collaboration and innovation. Furthermore, he has overseen the expansion of nuclear plants across the country, including in North India.

Also Read Story

Impeccable Hindi orator’s daughter, Eng lit student Bansuri takes oath in Sanskrit

Misa Bharti becomes first Lalu family member in Lok Sabha in 15 Years

Harbhajan Singh gets into argument over Rajya Sabha membership on X

After halting saffron rath in UP, Akhilesh brings Red Sea to Parliament