Congress Candidate Gurjeet Singh Aujla once again files his victory in Amritsar

| Updated: 05 June, 2024 2:54 pm IST
Amritsar MP Gurjeet Singh Aujla won the Lok Sabha elections again. (Feature image by: Aditya Singh)

NEW DELHI: The Amritsar Candidate Gurjeet Singh Aujla once again files his victory in Amritsar defeating Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal from Congress. He has garnered a total number of 2,55,181 votes while winning from AAP with 40,301 votes. 

The New Indian Team which travelled through different parts of Punjab also recorded the public sentiments from the beautiful city of Golden Temple. While the public around Golden Temple, Jailanwala Bagh and Brothers Dhaba was mostly seen inclined towards Congress, secondary support was seen for the BJP. But the results reflected a different picture posing secondary support for AAP which trailed from just 40,301 votes.

Taranjit Singh Sandhu Samundri who was contesting this time from BJP could only gather 2,07,205 votes while standing third in the position.

Meanwhile, the incumbent MP of Amritsar Aujla also won last time in 2019 with 4,45,032 votes, and BJP Candidate Hardeep Singh Puri was the runner-up with 3,45,406 votes. Last time also Kuldeep Singh Dhaliwal was fighting his candidature and won just 20,087 votes and this time instead he received 2,14,880 votes. The Constituency includes 9 Assembly segments, Congress has won 12 times from this seat historically since independence.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by New Indianmedia (@thenewindian_in)

In Amritsar, as Congress and AAP were contesting independently the other independent candidate Anil Joshi from Shiromani Akali Dal also garnered 1,62,896 votes. The elections in Amritsar were held on the last voting phase of elections on June 1.

In the centre, while BJP-led NDA has gathered 290 seats and India Alliance surprisingly gathered 235 seats. Just a few hours after announcing the results, PM Modi also announced that he would remain seated in the PM’s chair. This time’s Lok Sabha Elections which were held in 7 phases from April 19 to June 1 turned out to surprise everyone.

Also Read Story

BJP to form Farmer Producer Cell to boost agriculture in Uttar Pradesh

Kharge slams Modi Government for railway ‘negligence’ following Bengal train accident

Terrorist associated with LeT killed in Bandipora encounter

Rahul Gandhi to retain Rae Bareli, Priyanka Gandhi to contest from Wayanad