BJP Emerges As Single-Largest Party In Goa, Set To Form Govt

| Updated: 10 March, 2022 4:08 pm IST

PANAJI (GOA): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will return to power in Goa with the support of some Independent MLAs and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), senior party leader Devendra Fadnavis said on Thursday as the party won 20 of 40 assembly seats.

According to the Election Commission data, the BJP registered victory on eight seats and was leading on 12 others. The Congress party, which emerged as the single largest party in the last election but failed to form the government, won or was leading on 11 seats.

At least 21 seats are required for a party or alliance to form the government in the state.

Chief Minister Pramod Sawant won from Sanquelim assembly constituency with a thin margin, he said, adding that three MLAs have decided to extend their support to the BJP.

Former Maharashtra chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, who is in-charge of the party’s affairs in Goa, said the people of the coastal state have reposed their faith in the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

“Independent candidates are coming with us. MGP is also coming with us. We will form the government again with the support of all these MLAs,” Fadnavis stated.

A delegation of BJP leaders is expected to meet Governor PS Sreedharan Pillai today to stake claim for forming the government.

The MGP, which was part of the BJP government but later parted ways, was leading on three seats and has emerged as the kingmaker.

Utpal Parrikar, son of former chief minister Manohar Parrikar, lost to BJP candidate Atanasio Monserrate from Panaji assembly seat. Utpal contested as an Independent candidate after the party leadership denied him a ticket for the assembly polls.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won two seats in Goa while Goa Forward Party was leading on one seat.

Also Read Story

BJP to form Farmer Producer Cell to boost agriculture in Uttar Pradesh

Kharge slams Modi Government for railway ‘negligence’ following Bengal train accident

Terrorist associated with LeT killed in Bandipora encounter

Rahul Gandhi to retain Rae Bareli, Priyanka Gandhi to contest from Wayanad