Author: Tanu Kumari

Supreme court orders Haryana to ensure Delhi’s water supply

In a significant relief for Delhi residents, the Supreme Court on Thursday directed Haryana to ensure the smooth flow of surplus water released by Himachal Pradesh to alleviate Delhi's severe water crisis.

Chandrashekhar Azad’s victory in Nagina shifts UP politics

In a remarkable political shift, Chandrashekhar Azad of the Azad Samaj Party (ASP) secured a decisive victory in the Nagina constituency of Uttar Pradesh, defeating BJP candidate Om Kumar by over 1.5 lakh votes. Azad, a prominent Dalit leader and anti-caste activist, received 512,552 votes compared to Kumar’s 361,079, marking a significant milestone for the four-year-old ASP, which contested its first election with a teapot as its symbol.

Dushyant Singh leads by large margin in Jhalawar-Baran

Jhalawar-Baran Lok Sabha constituency in Rajasthan remains a stronghold for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). As of the latest trends in the 2024 elections, BJP candidate Dushyant Singh is leading by 369,508 votes against Urmila Jain 'Bhaya' from the Indian National Congress (INC).

Rajnath Singh leading in Lucknow Lok Sabha seat by 61695 votes

Defence Minister and BJP leader Rajnath Singh is leading in the Lucknow Lok Sabha constituency by a margin of 61695 votes. Singh is contesting against Ravidas Mehrotra of the Samajwadi Party (SP) and Sarwar Malik of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

DMK, Samajwadi Party, Trinamool Congress, NCP women candidates leading

The counting of votes for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections started at 8 am today, with the nation eagerly watching to see if the exit poll predictions hold true, allowing Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to secure a historic third consecutive term.

BJP wins Surat seat uncontested amid legal controversy

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a significant victory in the Surat Lok Sabha constituency even before the counting of votes began on June 4, 2024. Mukesh Dalal, the BJP candidate, was declared the winner on April 22 after all other contenders withdrew from the race. This marks a rare instance of an uncontested election in Indian parliamentary history.

Election Commission rejects Jairam Ramesh’s electoral interference allegations

The Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar responded sharply to allegations made by Congress leader Jairam Ramesh regarding Union Home Minister Amit Shah’s alleged contact with 150 district magistrates after the conclusion of Lok Sabha elections. Rajiv Kumar emphasized, “It’s not right to spread a rumor and doubt everyone.”

Hindi Journalism Day: Honoring voices

On May 30, 2024, Hindi Journalism Day will be observed with reverence and pride, commemorating the inception of Hindi journalism with the publication of the first Hindi newspaper, Udant Martand, in 1826. This historic event, initiated by Pandit Jugal Kishore Shukla in Kolkata, marked a pivotal moment in the history of Indian journalism. Despite facing financial hurdles, Shukla's pioneering effort laid the groundwork for the growth of Hindi journalism.

Delhi records first heatstroke death amid sweltering temperatures

In a tragic turn of events, a 40-year-old man hailing from Bihar's Darbhanga district breathed his last at Delhi's Ram Manohar Lohia hospital after succumbing to a severe heatstroke. The unfortunate incident occurred amidst the scorching temperatures gripping the national capital.

Israeli airstrikes in Rafah spark outrage, controversy

Israeli airstrikes in Gaza's Rafah have led to the deaths of at least 45 Palestinians, including many children, drawing condemnation from various countries and human rights groups. The strikes targeted the Tal as-Sultan area, designated as a "safe zone," but resulted in widespread civilian casualties. The attack occurred despite international concerns over civilian safety and left several tents ablaze, causing further casualties.

Popular Now

Latest News