Assam Congress leaders defecting to NDA amidst Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo campaign

| Updated: 27 January, 2024 2:04 pm IST

GUWAHATI: The Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra led by Rahul Gandhi, a nationwide initiative by the Congress, seems to be creating ripples within the Grand Old Party in Assam. Senior leaders from the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) are reportedly considering joining the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its NDA ally, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP).

Sources indicate that notable leaders, including Ex-Youth Congress President Angkita Dutta and senior Congress leader Bismita Gogoi, may exit the party ranks to join the NDA partners. The defection is particularly significant as both leaders come from well-established Congress families, with Angkita Dutta being the daughter of former APCC President Anjan Dutta and Bismita Gogoi being the daughter-in-law of Jiba Kanta Gogoi.

Adding to the exodus, former APCC General Secretary Apurba Kumar Bhattacharjee is set to join the AGP on January 29, expressing discontent with the leadership of the Congress. Bhattacharjee criticised the party’s failure to address the concerns of its grassroots workers and highlighted the absence of a common platform for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. He questioned the party’s vision and organisation, emphasising the need for a unified agenda.

READ MORE : French Prez Macron visits Nizamuddin Dargah before heading to Paris

In response, APCC President Bhupen Borah confirmed Angkita Dutta’s expulsion from the party and acknowledged the discontent within the ranks. He mentioned, “We have expelled Angkita already; how can she be in Congress? Bismita is like my sister, and I suggested her to be the Assam Mahila Congress President, but she expressed dissatisfaction after facing defeats.”

The ongoing Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra, aimed at uniting the nation, has faced challenges from political allies, with West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee recently declaring that her Trinamool Congress (TMC) would contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections independently.

Also Read Story

Pilibhit Voting: Don’t Know who’s Jitin Prasad, We Know Only Modi

Mehbooba, Altaf, Manhas file nominations for Anantnag-Rajouri LS seat 

ES attaches properties of Raj Kundra and Shilpa Shetty

I went against family wishes to join BJP in 1996: Tamilisai Soundrajan