Arvind Kejriwal approves tech reforms for Delhi jails

The Delhi Government will implement the best technology available to completely ban mobile operations in Delhi jails

NEW DELHI | Updated: 15 February, 2023 11:39 pm IST
Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal

Security at Delhi’s jails is set to get tightened after Chief minister Arvind Kejriwal gave approval for high-end tech reforms in prisons on Wednesday, February 15.

The Delhi Government will implement the best technology available in the world to completely ban mobile operations in Delhi jails, as CM Kejriwal approved the formation of a committee to study technology and move forward with its use.

Professors from IIT Madras and IISc Bangalore, scientists from DRDO, experts from C-DOT and officers from IB and SPG are to be members of the committee under the chairmanship of DG Prisons Sanjay Beniwal. This committee will recommend to the Delhi government the technology to implement a complete jammer system in jails.

Delhi’s Tihar Jail has witnessed a number of cases where the inmates were found to be using mobile phones. To stop the use of mobile phones, jammers are installed in the prison. However, it has been discovered that they are not technologically updated to stop signals of varying frequencies.

Government sources said that a proposal was received from the Prisons Department for the constitution of a high-level technical committee to strengthen the jammer system in Delhi jails. The proposal said that a high-level technical committee may be constituted under the chairmanship of Beniwal to find and test jamming solutions. The effectiveness of the new technology in blocking incoming and outgoing calls, SMS, and data services in the jail premises will be determined by this committee.

After reviewing the proposal, CM Kejriwal approved the formation of the committee on Wednesday. This committee will study the technology to block mobile signals, including the 5G network and suggest solutions.

The DG Jail will be the chairman of this 10-member committee. Apart from this, IISc Bangalore’s Prof A Chockalingam, IIT Madras’ Prof Devendra Jalihal, DRDO Scientist Manish Kumar, C-DOT’s Sukhpal Singh, Bluemax Stephen, Devdas B and Sandeep Agarwal, as well as IB Joint Deputy Director AKP Pandya and SPG SSO Santosh Kumar, are part of the committee.

Also Read Story

CM Yogi Adityanath concludes strategy meeting for upcoming by-elections

NASSCOM urges withdrawal of Karnataka’s State Employment Bill

Two fires erupt in Delhi overnight: Narela Factory, Gulati Restaurant affected

CBI arrests two more accused in NEET-UG paper leak case