Anti-Agnipath Protests: 415 Arrested, 20 FIRs Registered In UP

| Updated: 18 June, 2022 11:16 pm IST
Representative image

LUCKNOW: In a major crackdown on violent protests against the newly-introduced military recruitment scheme ‘Agnipath’, the Uttar Pradesh Police have arrested 415 people and have registered FIR against 20 people in the state.

At least 21 police personnel and 14 civilians have sustained injuries in these violent protests in different districts of Uttar Pradesh, as per the police data accessed by The New Indian.

According to the same data, 58 protesters have been arrested in seven FIRs in Prayagraj district, the highest in the state. With 85 arrests, Saharanpur stood at second place, followed by Kanpur district where 58 protesters were taken into custody.

As many as 55 people were arrested in Hathras district while 41 were detained in Ambedkar Nagar.

ALSO READ: Agnipath Could Be India’s Answer To Future Of Warfare

Among the 10 districts, where violence was reported, the lowest number of arrests was made in Jalaun. The district saw only five arrests.

Kanpur Police Commissionerate recorded the highest number of injuries in these protests where eight police personnel and 14 civilians were wounded when protests against the 4-year service rule turned violent.

At least eight police personnel were injured Ambedkar Nagar while three government officials including policemen were wounded in Prayagraj.

To assuage protesters, the Yogi Adityanath government has announced to preference to Agniveers in recruitment in various government departments like police.

The ‘Agnipath’ scheme was unveiled by the Central government on June 14, for youths to serve in the armed forces for a period of four years. As many as 46,000 ‘Agniveers’ will be inducted into the three services this year.

The government has said that Agnipath scheme is aimed at making the profile of armed forces younger, fitter and diverse for facing future challenges.

Since its announcement, protests erupted in 11 states across the nation including Bihar, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Maharashtra, Odisha, West Bengal and Jharkhand.

Also Read Story

AAP Pledges full support to India United Front in upcoming elections

MEA advises against travel to Iran and Israel

Delhi Police apprehends female thief gang in Metro; five held

JKNC announces Omar Abdullah’s candidacy for North Kashmir