DU Polls: ABVP winning on all four seats in early leads; 1st such battle after 3 years

| Updated: 23 September, 2023 1:26 pm IST

NEW DELHI: All four ABVP candidates in the most-keenly fought student elections this year, in the heart of the national capital, were leading at the end of the eight rounds of counting.

ABVP’s candidates Tushar Dedha, Sushant Dhankar, Aprajita and Sachin Bainsla, who are contesting for the post of President, Vice-President, Secretary and Joint Secretary, are leading.

The New Indian is in possession of the counting centre slip, according to which, Dedha has already garnered a lead of more than 1,900 votes over his opponent from NSUI, Hitesh Gulia.

Dhankar was surging against the NSUI candidate with a slender lead of about 500 votes.

In a battle of two women candidates, ABVP’s Aprajita has clocked an unassailable lead of more than 4,000 votes, leaving her opponent Yakshna Sharma tottering at just 2,782 votes.

Baisla, who is locked in a battle with NSUI’s Shubham Choudhary, had almost piled up more than double the votes in his favour.

DU elections, that often set the tone for BJP’s student body ABVP and Congress’s NSUI, are being held after a period of three years.

The varsities in the national capital, have become a festering ground for contentious issues by students in Delhi with respect to religious polarisations, food preferences, gender imbalance and North-east crisis being the latest to make it to their list of promises in the manifesto.

Both ABVP and NSUI had seen hectic campaigning, which The New Indian had reported earlier this week from the north campus.

In 2019, ABVP secured three out of four out seats in the DUSU elections-President, Vice- President and Joint Secretary, while the Secretary post went to NSUI.

Kanhaiya Kumar, the incharge of NSUI, has faced a barrage of backlash in the past few years for Congress student body’s loss following his own loss in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Begusarai against Union Minister Giriraj Singh.

Also Read Story

FIR by widow of Karni Sena chief blames outgoing CM Gehlot

Kerala police arrests doctor for dowry suicide of Kerala medical student

ED files chargesheet against Vivo for money laundering

Revanth Reddy provides “full access” to CM residence, takes oath as first Cong CM