8-member committee for One Nation One Election; Shah, Kovind & Salve in

NEW DELHI | Updated: 02 September, 2023 6:51 pm IST
The second day of the parliament monsoon session was marked by back-to-back adjournments

NEW DELHI: India has announced an eight-member committee to examine and recommend, any amendments to the Constitution, to examine holding simultaneous elections for states and countries in two phases, with its key members being Union home minister Amit Shah – one of the key architects of annulment of article 370, a similar historic step in 2019 – apart from former President Ram Nath Kovind and constitutional experts

One nation-one poll was one of the key manifesto promises of the BJP in 2014. The BJP has so far fulfilled most of its poll promises including the construction of the Ram Mandir in Ayodhya, abrogation of article 370 and article 35 besides tabling contentious bills of Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) and National Register of Citizens (NRC) after coming into power with a landslide victory in 2019 with a tally of 303 Lok Sabha seats, beating its own figure of 282 seats in 2014.




Ministry of law and justice announces a 8-member committee to examine holding simultaneous election for states and country in two phases.(TNI Photo)

With less than eight months to go for the general elections, poll pundits say this move may help the BJP at a time when India has launched successful space missions including CHandryaan 3 and Aditya L1, is on the cusp of holding two mega back to back events including G 20 and the ICC cricket world Cup

The other members include rebel Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, whose induction has surprised many as it comes at a time when INDIA front, a composition of 28 parties, held its third meeting in Mumbai without much headway on seat-sharing or any consensus on PM Candidate.

The ministry has also included a constitutional expert and Lok Sabha former secretary general Subhash Kashyap, Supreme Court senior advocate Harish Salve, former chief vigilance commissioner (CVC) Sanjay Kothari and former chairman of the 15th Finance Commission N K Singh

The ministry has not included any retired judges.

The New Indian has the copy of the order by the ministry of law and justicePM Modi and the Lok Sabha Speaker after placing Sengol in the new parliament





Also Read Story

TISS suspends student for screening controversial documentaries

Kejriwal calls out Tihar Jail’s lies on his insulin need

ECI forms heat watch task force for elections

Delhi Police files FIR in landfill fire; BJP blames AAP