Voting Underway For Bypolls On 7 Assembly Seats In 6 States

New Delhi | Updated: 03 November, 2022 10:17 am IST
A couple poses for a photo outside a polling station in Gola Gokarannath in Uttar Pradesh.

Voting for bypolls in seven Assembly seats across six states began on Thursday morning. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is in direct clash with regional parties in many of these constituencies.

The Assembly seats include Adampur in Haryana, Gopalganj and Mokama in Bihar, Andheri East in Maharashtra, Gola Gokarnnath in Uttar Pradesh, Munugode in Telangana, and Dhamnagar in Odisha.

The counting of votes will take place on Sunday, November 6.

These bypolls will test the BJP’s popularity against the Opposition parties’ renewed attempt to push back the advance of the saffron party.

Experts say the outcome of these bypolls could influence the upcoming Assembly elections in Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat.

All eyes are on the Adampur bypolls where Haryana strongman Kuldeep Bishnoi’s son Bhavya Bishnoi is making an election debut on the BJP ticket. The election was necessitated after senior Bishnoi’s exit from the Congress after he voted against the party candidate in the last Rajya Sabha elections.

More than 1.7 voters will decide whether Bhavya will be successful or the fate will favour Congress candidate Jai Prakash.

(This is a developing story)

Also Read Story

TISS suspends student for screening controversial documentaries

Kejriwal calls out Tihar Jail’s lies on his insulin need

ECI forms heat watch task force for elections

Delhi Police files FIR in landfill fire; BJP blames AAP