Voting trends are concerning for women BJP leaders

The tally of the BJP is hovering around 240 and Congress is near 100.

| Updated: 04 June, 2024 4:49 pm IST

NEW DELHI: The counting of votes for Lok Sabha Polls 2024 is in process, but this counting process is taking multiple twists and turns. The tally of the BJP is hovering around 240 and Congress is near 100. The most interesting twist of this counting process is that senior women BJP leaders seem to be losing.

Cabinet Minister of Women and Child Development, Smriti Irani, is trailing the tally by 89,108 votes in Amethi Lok Sabha Constituency in UP. Till now, Irani has gotten 224,871 votes. Gandhi family loyalist Kishori Lal Sharma of Congress is leading this seat with 313,779 votes. Smriti Irani is member of parliament from Amethi.

Another seat is Sultanpur in Uttar Pradesh, where Maneka Gandhi seems to be losing the battle to Rambhual Nishad of the Samajwadi Party. Gandhi is trailing by 23,020 votes by getting more than 199,805 votes. Rambhual Nishad of the Samajwadi Party is leading with 222,825 votes. Maneka Gandhi is a member of parliament from Sultanpur.

ALSO READ: BJP surpasses 250 seats in early election trends

Hooghly seat of West Bengal is witnessing the same where Locket Chatterjee of BJP is trailing by more than 33,331 votes by getting 258,744 votes. From this seat, Rachna Banerjee of the All India Trinamool Congress is leading by getting more than 292,075 votes. From Hooghly, Locket Chatterjee is a member of parliament.

From Hyderabad, Madhavi Latha Kompella of the BJP is trailing by 263,748 votes against Asaduddin Owaisi of AIMIM. While Madhavi gets 286,685 votes and Owaisi gets 550,433 votes. Asaduddin Owaisi is the member of parliament from Hyderabad.

Amravati Lok Sabha Constituency in Maharashtra is witnessing the same. Navneet Ravi Rana of the BJP is trailing by 31,138 to the Balwant Baswant Wankhade of Congress. Till now, Navneet has gotten 239,908 votes, and Balwant Wankhade has gotten 271,246. Navneet Rana is the member of parliament from Amarawati constituency.

ALSO READ: ECI demands facts from Jairam Ramesh on allegations against Amit Shah

The final results for these constituencies are yet to come. But these trends are concerning for the BJP.

In the last general election, out of these six constituencies, except Hyderabad constituency, all the constituencies were won by BJP female leaders.

Also Read Story

Rahul Gandhi meets farmers, discusses MSP guarantee

YouTuber Dhruv Rathee summoned in defamation case

Bihar legislative assembly passes bill to curb malpractices in public examinations

Opposition protests in Parliament over alleged discrimination in Union Budget