UP Polls: BJP Candidate Sets Record Of Highest Victory Margin Ever

| Updated: 11 March, 2022 4:06 pm IST
BJP leader Sunil Kumar Sharma after securing a historic victory from Sahibabad assembly seat

LUCKNOW: Candidates of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) set two national records on Thursday by winning their respective seats by the highest margin ever, as the party rode a strong wave of support to return to power in politically crucial Uttar Pradesh.

BJP candidate Sunil Kumar Sharma beat his Samajwadi Party rival Amarpal Sharma by more than 2.14 lakh (214835) votes in Sahibabad constituency of Ghaziabad district. This is the highest margin of victory for any candidate across the country since Independence.

Speaking to The New Indian, Sharma gave the credit for the historic win to the party workers, and the magic of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath among constituents.

“The development works carried out in this area as well as people’s faith in Yogi Ji and Modi Ji are the major factors behind this victory. Since I am an ordinary but dedicated BJP worker, other party workers can connect with me easily. This achievement is dedicated to the ordinary party workers of the constituency,” Sharma said, pointing out that he had won the assembly election even when the saffron party got only 50 seats in the state.

Sharma had defeated Amarpal Sharma, then a Congress candidate, by more than 1.5 lakh votes in the 2017 assembly election, which was the highest in that election.

This time, he has broken the record set by Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Kumar Pawar who had won the Baramati assembly constituency by defeating his nearest rival by over 1.65 lakh votes in the 2019 assembly elections.

Pawar, however, now stands at the third place. The second place is acquired by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh’s son Pankaj Singh who bested Samajwadi Party candidate Sunil Choudhary in the Noida assembly constituency by defeating him by 1.81 lakh (1,81,513) votes.

During the counting of votes on Thursday, it was Singh who first broke Pawar’s record, only to be broken again by his party colleague Sunil Kumar Sharma. Pankaj won the Noida seat by a margin of 1.04 lakh votes in the last assembly polls.

In Gorakhpur Urban constituency, Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, who contested first assembly poll of his life, defeated Samajwadi Party’s Subhawati Upendra Dutt Shukla by 103390 votes, as per the ECI.

Some BJP candidates, however, squeaked home by a very thin margin. Ashok Kumar Rana, the BJP candidate from the Dhampur seat in Bijnor district bested his Samajwadi Party opponent Naim Ul Hasan by just 203 votes, the lowest margin of victory in this election.

In the Kursi assembly constituency of Barabanki district, 217 votes changed the luck of BJP leader Sakendra Pratap as he managed to emerge victorious against Samajwadi Party candidate Rakesh Verma.

In Chandpur of Bijnor, Samajwadi Party’s Swami Omvesh beat BJP aspirant Kamlesh Saini by 234 votes.

As per the Election Commission of India, the BJP has won the elections thunderously by bagging 255 seats while the Samajwadi Party, which was hoping to make a comeback, secured 111 seats in the 403-member Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly, election for which were held in seven phases in February and March.

The counting of votes took place on March 10.

Also Read Story

Amit Shah sets ABVP National Conference ablaze, applauds India’s feats and the vigor of youth

FIR by widow of Karni Sena chief blames outgoing CM Gehlot

Lalduhoma takes oath as Mizoram CM, ends MNF-Congress duopoly

Joe Biden’s son Hunter receives federal tax evasion indictment