UP polls: 22.62% voter turnout recorded till 11 am in fourth phase

| Updated: 23 February, 2022 12:58 pm IST

LUCKNOW: 22.62 % voting was recorded till 11 am in the fourth phase of the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. The highest average turnout was recorded at 27.44% in Pilibhit, followed by 26.28% in (Lakhimpur) Kheri.

Voting is being held in 59 constituencies, including state capital Lucknow, spread across nine districts. The districts in which polling is being held are Pilibhit, Lakhimpur Kheri, Sitapur, Hardoi, Unnao, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Banda and Fatehpur.

Of the 59 seats, the BJP had won 51 in the 2017 elections, while the Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party had won four and three seats respectively. The BJP’s ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) had fetched one seat.

86,000 central paramilitary force personnel and 1.5 lakh UP police personnel are deployed to maintain law and order.

Law Minister Brijesh Pathak, who is facing Samajwadi party candidate and two-time corporator Surendra Singh Gandhi in the Lucknow Cantonment seat, and another BJP state minister Ashutosh Tandon from Lucknow East seat are among the prominent names who are in the fray.

The polling began in all the nine districts at 7 am and will conclude at 6pm.

“BJP will not only repeat the history but it is also an undeniable possibility that our number of seats will increase,” Defence minister Rajnath Singh said in Lucknow after casting his vote.

Also Read Story

JKNC announces Omar Abdullah’s candidacy for North Kashmir

MEA moves embassy due to worsening situation in Myanmar

INTERVIEW| Indian Army sufficient to counter China, don’t need to use my Dao: Pema Khandu on ‘names’

INTERVIEW| Manmohan govt took bribe to release North East funds: Arunachal Pradesh CM