Sidda gets 6 depts, keeps intelligence, leaves DK “irrigated”; Parameshwara is surprise big boss of home

| Updated: 27 May, 2023 3:45 pm IST

BENGALURU: The intense power struggle between DK Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah in Karnataka has reached its pinnacle. As the new state government takes shape, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah emerges as the ultimate power player, securing control over crucial ministries. He will call the shots in finance, cabinet affairs, bureaucracy, and intelligence, leaving DK Shivakumar has been left “high and dry” with irrigation and Bengaluru development. In a surprising move, 71-year-old Dalit leader G Parameshwara takes charge as the home minister, excluding intelligence.

Full list of portfolio distribution

The recent swearing-in ceremony at the Raj Bhavan witnessed a significant expansion of the cabinet, with 24 ministers taking their oaths. This brings the minister count of the Congress government to its maximum limit of 34, including the Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister, who were sworn in the previous week.

Media reports have been abuzz with speculation about the power struggle between Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar. As the dust settles, it becomes evident that Siddaramaiah has emerged victorious, wielding substantial influence over the final ministerial appointments.

READ MORE: SENSATIONAL TWIST: Muslims get 2 token berths; snub for turncoats Shettar; Laxman

Other key appointments include HK Patil overseeing law and parliamentary affairs, KH Muniyappa in charge of food, civil supplies, and consumer affairs, and Ramalinga Reddy handling the crucial transport department. Satish Jarikiholi takes charge of the public works department, Byrati Suresh is assigned urban development, MB Patil oversees industries and excise, Nagendra is responsible for youth and sports, Venkatesh manages animal husbandry, and Timmpur oversees the excise portfolio.

The document accessed by The New Indian reveals the caste-based division of the cabinet berths in the new Congress government.The Muslim community secured two berths with B.Z. Zameer Ahmad Khan and Rahim Khan as their representatives. Making history, U.T. Khader becomes the first Muslim to hold the esteemed position of Speaker in the state Assembly.

Deputy CM DK Shivakumar’s loyalists from the Vokkaliga community dominate the distribution of power. Both Lingayats and Vokkaligas scored four seats each, Notably, former party president Dinesh Gundu Rao secured a spot as the Brahmin face at Number 8.

Only one seat has been allocated to the backward caste Kuruba, to which the CM himself belongs

Also Read Story

Bibhav Kumar, Kejriwal’s aide, sent to 4-day custody in Maliwal case

World Schizophrenia Day 2024: Reasons and Treatment

Pune Porsche crash: Teen’s bail revoked, adult trial ordered

Delhi braces for intense 2024 Lok Sabha battle