Rohit Sharma replaces Virat Kohli as India’s full-time Test captain

| Updated: 19 February, 2022 4:58 pm IST

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced that Rohit Sharma will be India’s full-time Test captain. He is replacing Virat Kohli, who had voluntarity quit Test captaincy after the series defeat against South Africa. Rohit is already the ODI and T20I captain of India.

Rohit has score 3047 runs in 43 Test matches at an average of 46.87. His Test record has improved significantly ever since he started opening the innings.

“Rohit was the clear choice for captaincy in all the three formats. When a big player like him becomes a captain, the grooming part becomes easy. We’ll nurture future leaders under him. As long he is fit, he will continue to be the Test captain,” the chief selector Chetan Sharma said.

Experienced batsmen Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane, who have been grappling with poor form for a long time, are dropped from the squad.

“The selection committee thought a lot before making the decision. We spoke to them earlier. We told them we will not consider them for 2 Test matches for Sri Lanka. We told them the doors are absolutely open for them. In just 2 Test matches, selectors decided to give chances to other cricketers. They are playing Ranji Trophy,” Sharma clarified.

Seasoned pacer Ishant Sharma and wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha have also been axed.

Uncapped left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar makes it to the squad as Axar Patel is still recovering from an injury.

India’s Test squad for Sri Lanka series: Rohit Sharma (C), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant, KS Bharat, R Ashwin, Ravi Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Mohammed Shami, Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar

India’s T20I sqaud for Sri Lanka series: Rohit Sharma (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Deepak Hooda, R Jadeja, Y Chahal, R Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah(VC), Avesh Khan

Here is the schedule of Sri Lanka’s tour of India:

1st T20I – February 24, Lucknow

2nd T20I – February 26, Dharamsala

3rd T20I – February 27, Dharamsala

1st Test – March 4 to 8, Mohali

2nd Test – March 12 to 16, Bengaluru

Also Read Story

AAP Pledges full support to India United Front in upcoming elections

MEA advises against travel to Iran and Israel

Delhi Police apprehends female thief gang in Metro; five held

JKNC announces Omar Abdullah’s candidacy for North Kashmir