Rajasthan elections 2023: From deputy CM to MLA, Pilot wins, Congress loses

NEW DELHI | Updated: 03 December, 2023 6:10 pm IST
Sachin Pilot is credited for Congress' 2018 victory and has been eyeing the chief minister's post for a long time.

NEW DELHI: As Congress heads for an embarrassing loss in Rajasthan, former Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot, however, claims victory over his Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) compatriot Ajit Singh Mehta with a vote difference of 29,475 votes.

Pilot is set to be the sitting member of the legislative assembly in the state, however, no additional post will be presented to him. Although, the Grand Old Party was banking on supposed trends to defeat anti-incumbency in the state, yet the desert state has followed its pingponging pattern to get the BJP back in power.

During the 2018 elections, the heir of the Pilot family contested for the position of President of the Rajasthan Pradesh Congress Committee. However, subsequent to the political turmoil within the party’s ranks in 2020, he was stripped of this position. Analysts note that the political crisis was a contributing factor that hindered the Congress from attaining power in the state.

The projected scale of his victory, however, was lost in the defeat of the party.

Incumbent Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Pilot had engaged in a fiery political battle where doubts were raised regarding the latter’s loyalty to the party. The developments had come at a time when former Congress rebel Jyotiraditya Scindia had left the party for the BJP.

Taking to X, Pilot tweeted his gratitude to the voters of Tonk for voting for him with such an amazing margin. “I am very thankful to the people of Tonk for voting for me with such an amzing turnout. I promise to not let you down for the faith you have placed in me. I will always remain grateful to the people of Tonk,” the tweet read.

The counting process is ongoing, but this time, the Congress will find itself watching the government’s actions from the periphery, leading in only 69 seats.

ALSO READ: Rajasthan election 2023 results LIVE: BJP poised for resounding victory, no cliffhanger

Also Read Story

AAP, Congress will contest together in 4 states, with no alliance in Punjab

SP MP asserts Muslims will adhere to Shariat amid Himanta’s law repeal move

UP Police Constable exam cancelled over paper leak, admit card anomaly

Congress, AAP to jointly announce Delhi seat-sharing pact today for Lok Sabha polls 2024