PM Modi Meets Danish Queen, Wishes Her On 50th Year Of Reign

| Updated: 04 May, 2022 2:00 pm IST
Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Queen Margrethe II of Denmark along with Crown Prince Frederik André Henrik Christian (second right), Princess Mary Elizabeth Donaldson (right) and Danish Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen (left) at the Danish Royal House Amalienborg Palace, Copenhagen.

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday attended a dinner hosted by the Queen of Denmark Margrethe II at the Amalienborg Palace in Copenhagen.

PM Modi is in Denmark on the second leg of his three-nation European tour. Apart from holding bilateral talks, PM Modi will also attend the 2nd India-Nordic later in the day.

Over a lavish spread of white asparagus, morel in morel essence, timbale of grilled cabbage, cauliflower, celeriac, sauce Elizabeth, green asparagus, rhubarb bavaroise and woodruff, PM Modi and Queen Margrethe II discussed the blooming Indo-Danish ties.

PM Modi also wished Queen Margrethe II on the 50th year of her reign. Queen Margrethe II ascended to the throne in 1972 after the death of her father King Frederik IX. The 82-year-old monarch is the second longest-serving monarch in Danish history.

“Prime Minister felicitated Her Majesty on the occasion of the Golden Jubilee of her accession to the throne of Denmark,” the Ministry of External Affairs stated.

“Productive talks with PM Frederiksen, a business summit to discuss economic linkages, a vibrant community programme to further people-to-people linkages and a meeting with Denmark’s Royal Family,” PM Modi summed his day in the Nordic country in a tweet.

PM Modi was accompanied by a large contingent of Indian officials including Foreign Secretary Vinay Mohan Kwatra, Arindam Bagchi, Spokesperson of the Ministry of External Affairs, Indian envoy Pooja Kapur and several business leaders.

Danish Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen, accompanied by her cinematographer husband Bo Tengberg, led a delegation comprising Minister for Foreign Affairs Jeppe Kofod, Minister for Finance Nicolai Wammen, Minister for Climate, Energy and Utilities Dan Jørgensen, Minister for Industry, Business and Financial Affairs Simon Kollerup and Minister for Environment Lea Wermelin for the winner.

Also Read Story

Change at the top of NTA amid NEET controversy

Punjab Girl’s “Jannat Hai” Kashmir Video Melts Hearts

CSIR-UGC-NET postponed amid paper leak controversy

J&K Police close to busting terror network aiding infiltration