Padma Awards 2024 pay tribute to icons in film, entertainment, and sports

| Updated: 26 January, 2024 8:09 pm IST

NEW DELHI: In a grand announcement on the eve of Republic Day 2024, the Indian government revealed the recipients of this year’s prestigious Padma Awards, with a notable focus on luminaries from the film, entertainment, and sports industries.

Film and Entertainment Awardees:

1. Vyjayantimala Bali (Padma Vibhushan): Renowned actress, dancer, and parliamentarian, Vyjayantimala Bali, receives the Padma Vibhushan for her significant contributions to Indian cinema. Her illustrious career spans several accolades, including five Filmfare Awards and two BFJA Awards.

2. Konidela Chiranjeevi (Padma Vibhushan): Honoured for his achievements in acting, film production, and politics, Chiranjeevi is recognised as one of the most successful and influential actors in the history of Indian cinema. His career, spanning over four decades, boasts over 150 feature films in multiple languages.

3. Mithun Chakraborty (Padma Bhushan): The versatile actor, producer, and former politician, Mithun Chakraborty, is conferred with the Padma Bhushan. He has earned three National Film Awards for Best Actor during his distinguished career.

4. Usha Uthup Iyer (Padma Bhushan): A pioneer in Indian pop, filmi, jazz, and playback singing, Usha Uthup Iyer is honoured with the Padma Bhushan for her influential contributions to the music industry in the late 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s.

5. Vijayakanth (Padma Bhushan): Posthumously awarded, Vijayakanth, the Indian politician and actor known for his lead roles in Tamil cinema, receives the Padma Bhushan. With over 150 films in a career spanning four decades, his legacy lives on.

6. Pyarelal Ramprasad Sharma (Padma Bhushan): The legendary composer duo, Pyarelal Sharma, is recognised posthumously for their outstanding contribution to music, having composed for about 750 Hindi movies from 1963 to 1998.

7. Padma Subrahmanyam (Padma Vibhushan): The eminent Bharata Natyam dancer, research scholar, choreographer, and author, Padma Subrahmanyam, is honoured with the Padma Vibhushan for her significant impact on classical dance.

Sports Awardees:

1. Rohan Bopanna (Padma Shri): At 43, Bopanna becomes the oldest player to reach the men’s doubles No 1 position, earning him the Padma Shri accolade. His recent achievements include reaching the semi-finals of the Australian Open.

2. Joshna Chinappa (Padma Shri): Renowned squash player Joshna Chinappa, with multiple medals in Asian Games and Commonwealth Games, has been awarded the Padma Shri.

3. Harbinder Singh, Uday Deshpande, Purima Mahtao, Gaurav Khanna, and Satendra Singh Lohia (Padma Shri): Five more Indians have been honoured with the Padma Shri for their exceptional contributions to hockey, Mallakhmab, archery, para badminton coaching, and para swimming, respectively.

The Padma Awards continue to recognise excellence across various fields, acknowledging the invaluable contributions of individuals to the nation.

Also Read Story

Diljit Dosanjh’s Rogers Centre concert sellout, gets visit from Trudeau

Puja Khedkar faces new allegations of using OBC Quota for MBBS

PM Narendra Modi now has 100 million followers on X (Twitter)

Anant-Radhika reception: Boman Irani, other actors attend Mangal Utsav