Opposition Unity: Bihar satraps meet Congress leadership

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar, Deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav meet Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge and former president Rahul Gandhi

NEW DELHI | Updated: 12 April, 2023 3:37 pm IST
Congress leaders Mallikarjun Kharge and Rahul Gandhi met Bihar CM Nitish Kumar and Dy CM Tejashwi Yadav

Bihar Chief minister Nitish Kumar and his deputy, Tejashwi Yadav, met Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge at his residence in New Delhi on Wednesday, April 12, amid talks of opposition unity.

The meeting occurred after the Congress president dialled Janata Dal-United (JD-U) leader Kumar to discuss opposition unity ahead of the crucial 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

CM Kumar arrived at Kharge’s residence along with Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejashwi Yadav on Wednesday, April 12. Former Congress president Rahul Gandhi also joined them for the meeting.

According to sources, the opposition leaders are likely to discuss opposition unity.

The development came days after Kharge spoke to Kumar, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin and former Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray over the phone to discuss the opposition unity for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls.

Kharge has called several Opposition party leaders with the hope of papering over the cracks in opposition unity.

During the recently concluded Budget Session of Parliament, Congress cornered the ruling BJP over the Adani issue. The opposition parties have been demanding a Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) on the Adani issue.

The opposition parties have also come together against the government over the misuse of the central agencies against the opposition parties.

In recent days, the Central agencies had carried out searches at the premises of several opposition leaders, including TMC, JMM, RJD, AAP, Congress and others.

In the last few years, the Central agencies have arrested former Union Finance minister P Chidambaram, Karnataka Congress leader DK Shivakumar, AAP leaders Manish Sisodia and Satyendar Jain, NCP leader Nawab Malik, Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut, TMC leaders Anubarta Mondal and Partha Chatterjee and several others.

The central agencies recently questioned former Railway Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav, his wife and former Bihar CM Rabri Devi, his son and Bihar Deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav, his daughter and Rajya Sabha MP Misa Bharti.

The agencies had also questioned BRS leader K Kavitha, daughter of Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and TMC leader Abhishek Banerjee.

The Congress, which faced humiliating results in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections, is hopeful of a good showing in the 2024 polls against the backdrop of the Bharat Jodo Yatra and the Adani issue.

The Grand Old Party has been treading carefully for opposition unity as several issues need to be discussed before the polls, including the Prime ministerial candidate.

Also Read Story

‘Congress Manifesto will directly impact people residing in forest fringes’: K Surendran

Patanjali founders issue new apology after Supreme Court inquiry

Assam CM accuses Rahul Gandhi of tourist visa status

NIA conducts raids against terror outfits in Kashmir