Opposition to skip parliament building inauguration

RJD, TMC, Congress, AAP, CPM, CPI are not to be present at the inauguration of new parliament building

| Updated: 24 May, 2023 10:26 am IST
PM Narendra Modi will inaugurate the new Parliament building on May 28

NEW DELHI: The opposition parties seem to be leaving no stone unturned to show unity as a host of political parties have decided to skip the inauguration of the new parliament building on May 28.

Soon after the central government’s announcement that the new parliament building will be inaugurated by Prime minister Narendra Modi, opposition parties raised questions on why the President of India, who is the first citizen of the country, is not inaugurating the building.

The opposition camp has alleged that the central government is using the new Parliament building as a propaganda tool.

Former Union minister Lalu Prasad Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) on Wednesday said that they will not also skip the inauguration of the new parliament building.

“When we got to know that the PM himself would inaugurate the new parliament building. We present our views that this is a matter that the President should have inaugurated because the President is the constitutional head. But it is the choice of the PM and he never listens to others,” RJD MP Manoj Jha told The New Indian.

“All the opposition parties thought of sending out a message. People will know that most of the parties hailed the constitution with the highest regard and never accepted anything that would dent the highest post of the President of India. I still will request PM that there is a dire need for course correction,” Jha added.

“The party has taken the decision not to go to the inauguration of the new parliament building,” Trinamool Congress Lok Sabha leader Sudip Banerjee said.

Sources in the party said that the Mamata Banerjee-led TMC is questioning why the President of India, who holds the highest constitutional post, is not inaugurating the building.

Echoing the sentiments, Communist Party of India (Marxist) national general secretary Sitaram Yechury stated, “Modi bypassed the President when the foundation stone for the new Parliament building was laid. Now, too, at the inauguration. Unacceptable.”

The Congress party is also considering boycotting the inauguration of the new Parliament building. Sources in the party said that they would release a statement shortly.

The Communist Party of India (CPI) general secretary, D Raja, also confirmed that the party will not attend the inauguration ceremony.

While the opposition parties might skip the inauguration, Chief ministers of all the states are expected to be in New Delhi a day before, i.e. May 27, to participate in Niti Aayog’s governing council meeting.

PM Modi will chair NITI Aayog’s Governing Council meeting on May 27, and issues related to the economy, agriculture and health are expected to be taken up for discussion.

Meanwhile, the opposition parties are also mulling a meeting of “like-minded parties”, as a host of political leaders are expected to be present for the NITI Aayog meeting.

Also Read Story

New Delhi NEET paper solver gang busted; four arrested

Bibhav Kumar arrested in Swati Maliwal assault case

India, Pakistan advise students in Kyrgyzstan to stay indoors amid mob violence

Delhi Police record Swati Maliwal’s 164 CrPC statement