MCD Polls: AAP has last laugh over BJP; own mayor & deputy too

AAP names Dr Shelly Oberoi for the post of Mayor of Delhi. The party also nominates Aaly Mohd Iqbal for Deputy Mayor

NEW DELHI | Updated: 23 December, 2022 5:44 pm IST
Dr Shelly Oberoi and Aaly Mohd Iqbal

Delhi is all set to have a single mayor — after controversial dissolution of three corporations into one earlier this year — with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) naming Dr Shelly Oberoi for the post.

Along with Dr Oberoi, the AAP has appointed Aaley Mohd Iqbal, the Matia Mahal councillor, as Deputy Mayor of Delhi.

Following the party’s Political Affairs Committee meeting on Friday, senior party leader Pankaj Gupta officially announced Dr Oberoi’s name.

The election for the appointment of the mayor and deputy mayor will be held on January 6, after which the house will be constituted for one year. The last date for filing the nomination is December 27.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which held a tight grip over the erstwhile three corporations, managed to secure only 104 seats following the unification after the results were declared on December 7. But they staked their claim for the post of mayor.

However, with 134 councillors in a 250 seat MCD, AAP forced the BJP to backtrack from their claim.

After the PAC meet, which was held at Delhi Chief minister Arvind Kejriwal’s residence, Gupta said Oberoi from ward number 86 in Patel Nagar has been nominated for mayor and Aaley Mohd Iqbal from ward number 76 in Matia Mahal has been nominated for deputy mayor by the AAP.

He also said the party has nominated four councillors – Raminder Kaur, Ward 100; Sarika Chaudhary, Ward 142; Aamil Malik, Ward 246 and Mohini Jeenwal, Ward 218 for the Standing Committee members of the new MCD.

“Congratulations n best wishes to AAP candidates @OberoiShelly n @AaleyIqbal for Mayor n Dy Mayor n AAP members Standing Committee members @SarikaSamar, @iRaminderKaur, @MohiniJeenwal n Aamil Malik. God bless u all to make our beloved Del clean,” Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal tweeted.

“AAP’s designated members for Standing Committee – @SarikaSamar, @iRaminderKaur, @MohiniJeenwal and Mohd. Aamil Malik will be flag bearers of AAP’s revolution – for a clean Delhi, better schools, hospitals, roads & parks in MCD. My best wishes to them for a successful tenure,” Delhi deputy CM Manish Sisodia tweeted.

On January 6, elected councillors, including 14 MLAs, 7 Lok Sabha MPs and 3 Rajya Sabha MPs will be eligible to vote.

Dr Oberoi, 39, contested the elections for the first time. She contested from ward number 86, which falls in the home constituency of former Delhi BJP chief Adesh Gupta in east Patel Nagar in Central Delhi.

Shelly is a former assistant professor at Delhi University. She holds a PhD in management studies and is a lifetime member of the Indian Commerce Association.

She joined the AAP in 2013 and also became the party’s Mahila Wing vice president. She was among those dedicated AAP workers who helped in increasing the membership of AAP.

Also Read Story

Assam CM accuses Rahul Gandhi of tourist visa status

NIA conducts raids against terror outfits in Kashmir

Defence Minister visits world’s highest battlefield

Supreme Court demands Baba Ramdev’s apology size equivalent to ads