Japan introduces e-Visa for Indian tourists

| Updated: 04 April, 2024 5:28 pm IST

NEW DELHI: In a significant move aimed at enhancing tourism ties, Japan has officially initiated its e-Visa program for several countries, including India. The program, which commenced on April 1, 2024, enables Indian tourists to apply for visas electronically through designated Japan Visa Application Centres operated by VFS Global.

The newly introduced e-Visa provides a single-entry short-term visa tailored specifically for tourism purposes, allowing individuals to stay in Japan for up to 90 days. Both Indian citizens and foreign nationals residing in India are eligible to apply for this electronic visa.

Under the e-Visa system, applicants will submit their visa applications through Visa Application Centres managed by VFS Global, following a process similar to the conventional method. However, instead of receiving traditional visa stickers affixed to their passports, successful applicants will be issued electronic visas.

ALSO READ: Iran lifts visa requirement for Indian travellers – THE NEW INDIAN

Travellers utilizing the e-Visa program will be required to present a ‘visa issuance notice’ on their mobile devices upon arrival at Japanese airports. It’s important to note that access to the internet is crucial for this process. Any alternative format, such as PDFs, photos, screenshots, or printed copies, will not be considered valid.

This innovative initiative is expected to streamline the visa application procedure for Indian tourists, offering them greater convenience and ease when planning visits to Japan. The launch of the e-Visa program reflects Japan’s commitment to fostering tourism and strengthening bilateral relations with India.

Also Read Story

INTERVIEW| I am a proud atheist; Udhaynidhi & I free to follow atheism: Kanimozhi

Pilibhit Voting: Don’t Know who’s Jitin Prasad, We Know Only Modi

INTERVIEW| 2011 jail taught me who are my friends & women in politics are dispensable: Kanimozhi

Mehbooba, Altaf, Manhas file nominations for Anantnag-Rajouri LS seat