India, China Hold Border Talks

| Updated: 01 June, 2022 12:51 am IST
Picture for representative purpose only

NEW DELHI: Amid growing tension between India and China, owing to the latter’s military assertiveness, the countries on Tuesday held the latest round of border talks to discuss the continuing border standoff in Eastern Ladakh.

Naveen Srivastava, additional secretary East Asia, Ministry of External Affairs and Hong Liang, director-general of the Boundary & Oceanic Department of the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs concluded the 24th meeting of the Working Mechanism for Consultation & Coordination on India-China Border Affairs on Tuesday virtually.

Both the parties reviewed the situation along the Line of Actual Control in the Western Sector of the India-China border areas.

They also agreed that as instructed by the two Foreign Ministers, both sides should continue the discussions through diplomatic and military channels to resolve the remaining issues along the LAC at the earliest so as to create conditions for the restoration of normalcy in bilateral relations.

The two countries also agreed that the 16th round of the Senior Commanders’ meeting will be convened at an early date to achieve the objective of complete disengagement from all friction points along the LAC in the Western Sector in accordance with the existing bilateral agreements and protocols, the Ministry of External Affairs said.

India and China held the 14th and 15th meetings of the Senior Commanders in January and March. They agreed to maintain security and stability on the ground along the Line of Actual Control in the Western Sector during the 15th round of military talks held at the Chushul-Moldo border meeting point on the Indian side on March 11.

Commenting on the latest development, China expert Dr Jabin T Jacob told The New Indian, “The negotiation with the Chinese is not going anywhere. We have seen that China has violated most of the major agreements signed in 1993, 1996 and 2005.”

Also Read Story

Pilibhit Voting: Don’t Know who’s Jitin Prasad, We Know Only Modi

Mehbooba, Altaf, Manhas file nominations for Anantnag-Rajouri LS seat 

ES attaches properties of Raj Kundra and Shilpa Shetty

I went against family wishes to join BJP in 1996: Tamilisai Soundrajan