IAF introduces a new flag, balancing heritage and modernity

NEW DELHI | Updated: 07 October, 2023 8:45 pm IST
Indian Air Force will launch new ensign on Indian Air Force day

NEW DELHI: On Saturday, the Chief of Air Staff revealed the updated Indian Air Force (IAF) flag, signifying a momentous occasion in the history of the IAF and mirroring the evolving principles of the organisation.

The new IAF flag incorporates the Air Force Crest in the upper right corner, situated towards the end of the flag. This emblem showcases the national emblem, the Ashoka lion, along with the phrase “satyamev jayate” written in Devanagari script just below it.

Beneath the Ashoka lion, an eagle from the Himalayas with wings outstretched represents the IAF’s determined nature. Surrounding the eagle is a light blue ring bearing the inscription “Indian Air Force” in Devanagari. The IAF’s motto, “Nav Sparsh Diptam,” drawn from the Bhagavad Gita, can be translated as “Radiant Thou Touchest Heaven” or “Touching the sky with glory.”

READ MORE: IAF will counter enemies with tactical mastery, Says ACM Chaudhari

The IAF ensign has evolved over the years. Initially, it featured the Union Jack in the upper left canton and the RIAF roundel (Red, White, and Blue) on the fly side. However, following India’s independence, the ensign underwent a transformation, with the Union Jack being replaced by the Indian tricolour and the RAF roundels substituted with the IAF tri-color roundel in the lower right canton.

The updated flag symbolises the IAF’s dedication to safeguarding the country’s airspace and preserving its proud legacy, all while embracing contemporary advancements.

Also Read Story

J&K Police close to busting terror network aiding infiltration

PM Modi’s selfie moments shine at Srinagar Yoga Day event

J&K’s Yoga enthusiasm will be immortalized in minds: PM Modi

Ministry of Textiles approves startups to boost innovation and sustainability