Gujarat: CM Bhupendra Patel’s cabinet to have women, tribal and young faces

| Updated: 09 December, 2022 7:43 pm IST
Shri Bhupendra Rajnikant Patel Gujarat Chief Minister, Shri Bhupendra Rajnikant Patel (TNI Photo By Anand Singh)

With the oath-taking ceremony just days away, interest around who would make it to the cabinet of Chief Minister Bhupendra Singh has peaked. The New Indian learns that the cabinet will have many women, youth and tribal faces.

Though all ministers in Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel’s Cabinet have won in the assembly polls, except MoS Education Kirti Sinh Vaghela, some old ministers will be replaced as per sources. Apart from new entrants,  preference will be given to young leaders and women leaders.

Patel’s cabinet will also have several tribal faces looking at massive victory shares in the tribal belt. Out of 27 seats dominated by tribals, BJP has won 24 ST seats.

The tribal population in Gujarat — 89.17 lakh – comprises 15 per cent of its total population, as per the 2011 census data. The community is largely spread across 14 eastern districts of the state.

BJP earned the trust of the tribals with Draupadi Murmu’s election as the President of India, in Gujarat specifically several government schemes and dairy schemes that have directly benefited tribals in Gujarat.

Sources tell us that the oath taking ceremony will be grand to match the victory margin of the CM, who even broke Prime Minister’s winning margin record when he was the CM of Gujarat. Patel won from Ghatlodia with a margin of almost 2 lakh votes.

The ceremony will happen at Helipad ground in Gandhinagar in presence of PM Narendra Modi, Union Minister Amit Shah and several others.

BJP’s state party president C R Paatil on Thursday addressing a press conference after victory said that, “Bhupendra Patel will continue as the state chief minister and his oath-taking ceremony will take place on December 12 where PM Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah will also be present.” Apart from this as per sources, all BJP ruled states Chief ministers are also likely to be part of swearing in Ceremony like UP CM Yogi Adityanath.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, former Karnataka minister B.S.Yediyurappa and Tribal Affairs Minister Arjun Munda have been appointed as observers for Gujarat ahead of the legislatures meeting tomorrow.

On Saturday, at 10.00 am, the BJP state legislature party will hold a meeting at state headquarters in Gandhinagar “Kamlam” office. Later at 2.00 pm, state party president CR Patil sought an appointment with Governor of state Acharya Devvrat to form a new government.

Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel reached Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar today and submitted the resignation to Governor Acharya Devvrat. He will act as working CM till the time he takes oath.


Also Read Story

TISS suspends student for screening controversial documentaries

Kejriwal calls out Tihar Jail’s lies on his insulin need

ECI forms heat watch task force for elections

Delhi Police files FIR in landfill fire; BJP blames AAP