Govt Reconstitutes Board Of Trade, TCS CEO, Amul MD Among 29 Ex-Officio Members

| Updated: 12 July, 2022 2:10 pm IST
TCS) MD Rajesh Gopinathan, Amul MD RS Sodhi, & Shoppers Stop chairman BS Nagesh (from left to right)


NEW DELHI: The Commerce Ministry on Monday reconstituted the Board of Trade, a top advisory body on external commerce, by notifying the appointment of 29 non-official members.

The new board members represent a mix of large and small enterprises with sectoral and geographical distribution, government officials said here.

The Board of Trade in which the Council for Trade Development and Promotion was merged in 2019 is headed by commerce minister Piyush Goyal. Its new non-official members include Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) MD Rajesh Gopinathan, Laghu Udyog Bharati executive member Om Prakash Mittal, Amul MD RS Sodhi, Shoppers Stop chairman BS Nagesh, and Confederation of All India Traders (CIAT) secretary-general Praveen Khandelwal.

The new board would provide a platform for states and union territories for articulating their perspectives on trade policy and help states to develop and pursue export strategies in line with the national foreign trade policy.

It will also act as a platform for deliberation on the need for infrastructure relevant for promoting trade and for identification of impediments and infrastructure gaps which adversely affect India’s export and advise the government on policy measures for the preparation and implementation of both short and long term plans for increasing exports, the government said.

Also Read Story

Amit Shah sets ABVP National Conference ablaze, applauds India’s feats and the vigor of youth

FIR by widow of Karni Sena chief blames outgoing CM Gehlot

Lalduhoma takes oath as Mizoram CM, ends MNF-Congress duopoly

Joe Biden’s son Hunter receives federal tax evasion indictment