Lotus ‘A Symbol Of hope’ In G-20 India Presidency Logo

| Updated: 08 November, 2022 5:24 pm IST

The Prime Minister unveiled the logo for G-20 India presidency on Tuesday. The logo has a lotus in it.

“World is going through after-effects of disruptive once-in-a-century pandemic, conflicts & a lot of economic uncertainty. Symbol of lotus in G20 logo is representative of hope. No matter how adverse the circumstances, lotus still blooms,” he said explaining the rationale behind incorporating a lotus in the logo. 

“Seven petals on Lotus represent seven continents of the globe and also seven notes of music. G20 will bring the world together in harmony. In this logo, Lotus flower is depicting the mythological heritage of India, our faith, our intelligence,” PM Modi said during the logo’s launch.

The logo was selected through a competition.

The colour scheme in saffron, green, blue and white is inspired from the national flag.

The seven petals of the lotus represent the seven seas and the coming together of the seven continents.

Notably, BJP’s party symbol is also Lotus and also the National Flower of India. 

He congratulated countrymen on the historic occasion of India’s G20 Presidency. ‘”Vasudhaiv Kutumbakam’ is signature of India’s compassion to world. Lotus portrays cultural heritage & faith of India in bringing world together,” he said.

India is set to assume G20 Presidency, beginning December 1, 2022. “It is moment of pride for 130 crore Indians that we have got the opportunity to preside over G20 as we are celebrating azaadi ka amrit mahotsav (on the occasion of 75th Anniversary of Indian Independence),” said the PM. 

G-20 aims to create harmony with diversity, the PM added. “G-20 countries together represents 85 per cent of world’s economy,” he said. 

The members of the G20 are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States, and the European Union. Spain is also invited as a permanent guest.

Highlighting the focus areas for India’s presidency, MEA spokesperson Arindam Bagchi tweeted: “Vasudaiva Kutumbakam – One Earth, One Family, One Future! India will assume the presidency of the G20 with this unique theme to bring together a polarised world. Sustainable growth, climate action, women empowerment, digital transformation will be some of the pillars of #G20India” 

In July this year, former NITI Aayog CEO Amitabh Kant was picked as India’s new Sherpa for the G-20. He replaced Piyush Goyal, Minister for Commerce & Industry and Consumer Affairs. Kant apparently was appointed keeping in mind India’s presidency. With more meeting, the need for a full time Sherpa was felt.

India will hold the presidency from December 1, 2022 to November 30, 2023.


Also Read Story

JKNC announces Omar Abdullah’s candidacy for North Kashmir

MEA moves embassy due to worsening situation in Myanmar

INTERVIEW| Indian Army sufficient to counter China, don’t need to use my Dao: Pema Khandu on ‘names’

INTERVIEW| Manmohan govt took bribe to release North East funds: Arunachal Pradesh CM